what to do with the old glasses?

Remember a few days ago I was cleaning out my medicine cabinet.  Well it started out with de cluttering the bathroom. And while doing that I found 8 or 9 pair of eye glasses.

I remembered when I was younger my Dad used to organize a collection of old prescription glasses and then send them all to Africa.

Why didn’t I ever think of that, instead I was piling up those glasses in my drawers. And also some older sun glasses from my kids.  Well the internet was the place I turned to again and found a website that would help me out. http://volunteerguide.org/volunteer/fifteen/eyeglasses-donation.htm  The Volunteerguide  was what I found and their info was:

Donate your old eyeglasses and sunglasses to help people with eyesight difficulties worldwide. (Sunglasses can be non-prescription. They are needed in countries near the equator to help protect people’s eyes from sun damage.) The Lions Club has drop boxes in many convenient locations. To find a LensCraftersPearle VisionSears Optical, Target Optical, Sunglass Hut, or other facility that collects old eyeglasses for the group OneSight, you can search by zip code on the organization’s site for the location most convenient to you.

Items also can be sent in padded envelopes or boxes to:

New Eyes for the Needy
549 Millburn Avenue
P.O. Box 332
Short Hills, NJ 07078

E-mail ten friends who wear glasses to see if they have old pairs that could be recycled for people with eyesight problems. Collect them for donation.

Check with lost and found departments in hotels, stores, police stations, and mortuaries for unclaimed glasses that could be donated.

So I told my neighbours and asked them they need to be cleaning out their drawers until the end of this month, because then I will be going to one of the places to drop them off or just send them to the address above.

3 thoughts on “what to do with the old glasses?

  1. Yes, I remember seeing some interview with some kid who started up an internet site for just that, collecting glasses. Good for you for taking the time to research it! We have all kinds of old glasses floating around the house, in different drawers, baskets etc. I should take a day to hunt them all down.

    Like

  2. It is funny how glasses multiply over the years! I usually save the last pair of glasses I got (before current one) in case something happens to the current ones, and the rest go to the Lions. Our eye doctors office has a drop box to put donated glasses.

    The Lions group is a wonderful organization for this. In our old hometown, they were very active in the community. It is great to know you are helping other see the world.

    Like

Thanks for your comments!

