Do you want to know who is behind MOXNME ?

Come with me and meet the glass artist Michelle and her wonderful work at http://www.zibbet.com/moxnme
Brief bio where you are from and how you started
I grew up and still live just outside of Toronto Ontario with my husband Adam and our dog Moxie.  I graduated from York University with a BFA majoring in oil painting and sculpture but could never bring myself to sell my paintings.  I have probably touched on every medium out there but, these days I am focused and absorbed in stained glass. I learned the art of stained glass from my mother.  Once I had the financial means to support the craft I jumped at the opportunity to learn and be mentored by her.
How did your Studio get its name?
The name moxnme came from my furry side kick Moxie. I thought it was fitting since she is always with me when I create. I started my website www.moxnme.com as an online portfolio, a way to show friends and family my creations. I never thought it would turn into a portal where customers could find me and buy my art but I love it! Most of my work is custom and as such it is hard for me to have a full store on zibbet. Very often a customer contacts me through zibbet and the order develops into something else entirely so it never registers on the site.
What material do you work with?
These days it is primarily Stained Glass which includes the use of copper foil, solder and wire. I also sew a lot and make dog accessories like collars and matching leashes inspired by Moxie of course!
When did you discover your creative side?
I think I have always been creative. I have always been surrounded by art having a very creative mother and a very supportive family I was encouraged to test out new mediums and never be afraid to try. As a child I was more interested in art than anything else and used to draw on everything! The front covers of all my school reports were more beautiful that the actual work they contained!  I also remember getting my first set of oil paints when I was 8, I was immediately hooked!
What inspires you and what gets you motivated?
My inspiration and motivation is based on the endless possibilities of stained glass. I dream about new ideas and try to test the boundaries of the art form to see where it will take me.  I love the feeling of accomplishment I get when I complete a piece of glass. I also love the support and trust that my customers give me when they order one of my pieces; it’s truly an amazing feeling!
Describe yourself with 5 words?
Creative, Artistic, Imaginative, Driven, Loving

Contact Info:

Website- www.moxnme.com

Twitter- http://twitter.com/moxnme

Zibbet-  http://www.zibbet.com/moxnme

http://www.zibbet.com/moxnme/artwork?artworkId=466395   I just love those screen bugs!

6 thoughts on “Do you want to know who is behind MOXNME ?

  1. Hi Michelle, I enjoyed your story and looking at your beautiful stained glass work. Both the jewelry and window are lovely. Keep up the great work…I’m sure you will have a lot to offer people during the years to come. Investigate all the possiblities in your medium! Isn’t it great that ideas have no end!!…BTW, thanks for liking my interview. You may want to visit me sometime at http://www.rainbowirejewelry.wordpress.com

    Like

Thanks for your comments!

