A twist on a intricate pattern with Doily Dea

Remember those times when you used to visit Grandmas house and she had those white round delicate things lying around everywhere. For the longest I didn’t know what they were called. Doily’s, I learned later. Now let’s meet Dea and find out how she puts a twist on those wonderful Doilies.

I’m Dea Watts, from Nashville, TN.  I learned to crochet when I was about 10 years old, and I have been doing it ever since.  I love working with the patterns, especially more complicated ones that you have to figure out like a puzzle.  I enjoy thread crochet best because I think it’s just the prettiest thing in the world to do.  It dawned on me one day that teensy doilies would make gorgeous earrings, so I branched out into jewelry, too.
I never dreamed I’d be able to crochet as my job, but when I got diagnosed with Fibromyalgia, I thought maybe I could start a website and sell my doilies online.  When I found Etsy, it was like a dream come true!  It was a simple answer to what I was looking for and helped me get started right away.
  Name?  I tried a couple different names for my shops at first, and back then I was crocheting Afghans, hats, purses, gloves, etc.  I wasn’t really enjoying it like I did thread crochet, though.  So I took a year off, and during that year, I crocheted over 100 doilies and made almost that many pairs of earrings.  That was definitely my niche… and since my earrings are basically doilies, too – Doily Dea.
  Materials – I love thread crochet, and I also love super soft and unusual fibers.  I use a lot of cotton, but have recently discovered wools and silks and hand dyed threads.  I am completely in love!  I also use beads for my jewelry, and I love to work with natural stones.  Though I do find that I can’t resist sparkling glass beads or lampwork beads either.  I am hoping to work these into my items soon!
  I discovered my creative side at a very young age, writing poetry almost as soon as I could read.  I’ve had my hands on something artsy ever since.  I can’t resist a craft project!  I macrame, sew, crochet, paint, and even do a little wood burning.  I can’t see anyone’s handmade items without wanting to try it myself!
  Inspiration/Motivation – I am fortunate that I am simply always motivated.  I have to stay busy to be happy.  Just about anything can inspire me – a pretty color of thread, a sparkly bead, a bare table top, a vintage pattern!  Maybe it’s just that I love what I’m doing so much that my head constantly spins with ideas?  I can never wait to start my next project.
  In 5 words?  Crazy in love with thread.
9 thoughts on “A twist on a intricate pattern with Doily Dea

Thanks for your comments!

