Such amazing Talent!

I am sure some of you might find this name familiar or have already seen her amazing work. This week I would like to introduce you to Trica from 

http://www.zibbet.com/FireSpiritDesigns  

I am still in aw over the amazing paintings and bead work that she creates. But have a look for yourself and read a little about her craft story.

 

1. Brief bio where you come from and how you started:

I live in Smithfield, VA, a very historic town almost as old as Jamestown. I was born in a small town in N.C. on my grandparent’s farm, though didn’t even live there a yr. after being born because my father entered the Air Force.

2. How did your Studio get its name?

When I began this phase of my “career” (almost 20 yrs. ago), I had just started working with glass for the 1st time in my life. I was doing lampwork, fused glass, and slumping glass, so I wanted a name to signify what my main interest was at that moment. FireSpirit Designs seemed perfect and also incorporated all the other things I did. It felt right and the longer I was “FireSpirit”, the better it felt. Even though I worked in a lot of of other media, that name seemed to fit and really felt right, so I kept it.

3. What material do you work with?

I’m apt to work with any material I can find depending on how my mind is working at the time, I guess.I’ve walked through the woods picking up tree roots, bits of wood, plant life, etc. or just observing different colors together, & shapes of things. Whenever I go into a store to look around, I’m thinking, I know what I can do with that, but it usually isn’t what the manufacturer had in mind or why it’s for sale. I’ll use almost anything as a material if I can put it to use in my creation.The traditional materials I use are:
paints
canvas
papers
fiber
beads
metal
clay
wood

4. When did you discover your creative side?

It was so long ago, I can’t remember. I know it started when I was a small child because I remember wanting to be an artist when I grew up. I learned how to sew, embroider, knit and crochet from my mother, grandmother, and friends. I began drawing on my own, copying pictures I saw in comic books and magazines. That led to my drawing from my imagination.

5. What inspires you and what get’s you motivated?

I see art & design in nearly everything. But I think nature is my biggest inspiration. When I’m doing jewelry, justlooking through books & magazines at other jewelry, pictures, etc. helps to spark my imagination. Sometimes, just looking at beads or other materials inspires me.

6. Describe yourself with 5 words?

creative
patient (everybody always tells me that, especially my students, though I never thought of myself that way!)
honest
a dreamer
experimental

These are the links to where I can be found on the internet:

patricia-brett.artistwebsites.com
Patricia-Brett.fineartamerica.com
www.FireSpirit.Etsy.com
www.FireSpiritDesigns.Etsy.com
www.FireSpiritBeadsandSupplies.ArtFire.com
www.FireSpiritDesigns.Artfire.com
www.ArtWanted.com/FireSpirit
www.cafepress.com/firespiritart
www.zibbet.com/FireSpiritBeadsandSupplies
www.zibbet.com/FireSpiritDesigns

5 thoughts on “Such amazing Talent!

Thanks for your comments!

