Have you ever heard of ConjuredCardea?

Reading her intro to her shop is like a fresh breeze, I love her add to the end “If you find yourself in need, give first, then you will receive.”

 Where is your center of craft life? Where is your business? 

I work from my home in Kalamazoo, Michigan. I did “backdoor conjure” for many years. As in, someone needed something, they’d come to the back door, we’d have a consultation and I’d give them what was needed. A mojo, gris gris, a reading etc.  Later on, they’d bring by some groceries or something else useful. I only accepted barter for over 10 years, until a close friend made me realize I could serve more people on-line. Now, I have over 4000 clients in over 50 countries.

 How did your store come to life?
I was raised in this tradition and craft and knew at about the age of 12 that I wanted a store to share my culture, crafts and belief with others. I never thought about going on-line, a friend convinced me of that. I hope to open a brick and mortar store within a couple of years. That idea is very exciting and terrifying as well.

What is the story behind your Shop name, how did it get it and why?
Conjure means “To appear unexpectedly” and Cardea is an ancient Roman Goddess of doorways, hinges and thresholds. I wanted to use the word conjure and pairing the Goddess Cardea with it was a wonderful way to describe my shop. It supplies those who are at new thresholds in their spirituality and those who accept the spiritual nature of life. New doorways appear unexpectedly all the time in life. My items can help you give honor to those or help you transition through them.

 What kind of material do you work with and why?
On an average day in the shop I will work with oils, herbs, seeds, roots, woods, bones, soap, wax, fabric, incense, charms and much more. I love nature. I love the energy and the power that natural items possess and I love making items that people will use daily such as soaps, oil and candles.
 What/ who got you into creating?
Most likely, my grandma Kay. I lived with her a lot and she was an avid seamstress and crafter. Even as a child, the other neighborhood children would come to my fence with their concerns and problems and I would give them trinkets and charms to help them feel better.
where do you find your inspiration?
Nature, religious books (I took a vow 15 years ago to only read religious materials, other than current events) and from the deities and spirits I serve. I forage a lot for the herbs I use in my work. What’s in season or what I find a healthy abundance of, determines the types of items I will create from it.
what do you do when you get a crafting block?
That hasn’t happened yet. If anything, I have more ideas than what I can create! Not that I’d ever complain about that.
how do you get the word out about your business?
I don’t really. I have a Facebook page, Twitter and Pinterest for my business. I suppose it’s word of mouth from my clients.
 describe yourself with 5 words
Uninhibited, passionate, determined, short, ridiculous.

where do you see your shop/ items in the future?
Having had 27,000 sales within 5 years on my last site, I am excited and expect wonderful things from my new sites. I look forward to expanding to a brick and mortar shop so I can serve my community. I want to hold cultural classes and classes that offer folks the opportunity to learn the traditions of this craft so they may apply it to their own lives and spiritual paths.

the places you will find Sarah are:

2 thoughts on “Have you ever heard of ConjuredCardea?

  1. what a wonderful interview! Very much enjoyed it and viewing the beautiful creations. Her self description made me smile, and I can very much relate 🙂

    Like

Thanks for your comments!

