Spotlight Friday: essential oils

I hope all my American readers had a wonderful 4th of July. I sure did, hanging out with my friends family in North Carolina. That is why there was no Spotlight last week.

This week I would like to see what I can find about Essential oils on www.zibbet.com

I have always used Essential oils, either by diffusing them or for cleaning. Also for massaging them into your skin. Or in my daily teeth cleaning and oil pulling.

I have quite a few books in German, also follow some pages on the internet for information. But I will be going to a Class in a few days to learn more about it.

The way to use the oils is called Aromatherapy

Aromatherapy is a form of alternative medicine that uses volatile plant materials, known as essential oils, and other aromatic compounds for the purpose of altering a person’s mind, moodcognitive function or health.

Some essential oils such as tea tree[1] have demonstrated anti-microbial effects, but there is still a lack of clinical evidence demonstrating efficacy against bacterial, fungal, or viral infections. Evidence for the efficacy of aromatherapy in treating medical conditions remains poor, with a particular lack of studies employing rigorous methodology,[2] but some evidence exists that essential oils may have therapeutic potential.[3]                                           (source Wikipedia)

When we first got the the US, there was not much Literature to be found either on the net or elsewhere. But now it seems you can find information everywhere. Also I find it easier to buy oils now then a few years ago.  So I am looking forward to refresh my knowledge and learn some new things in that upcoming class.

 


Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Serenity Now — Achieve Restful, Silent Bliss — Both a Mantra and a Unisex Aromatherapy Spray/Cologne by FrankieandMyrrh

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Spa Aromatherapy Body Scrub Lavender Sage
by NymphsNecessitys

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
aromatherapy necklace by seeminglyrandom

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet

Alluring Aroma Sachet
by HeavenScentHealingbyGabriel

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Lavender – Apricot Bath and Shower Oil, Massage Oil 4oz
by winterskin

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Healing Oil For Sickness, Grief, Sorrow, Ailments- Hoodoo by ArtOfTheRoot

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Sensuous Serenity Massage and Body Oil
by meadowmuffin2010

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Incense Burner by LastChantsStudio

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Aromatherapy amulet in black N886. Perfume necklace, pomander
by FleurDeIrk

 

what is your favorite oil to use, and what do you use it for?

 

6 thoughts on “Spotlight Friday: essential oils

  1. Great article! I use natural coconut oil for everything; I have read about mixing in different oils for various purposes but haven’t tried it yet. I will check out these shops – great looking products here! That class sounds like a fun thing to do, too!

    Like

    1. Thank you Linda. I do yous Coconut oil for a lot of things too. I made my own counter and cleaning wipes by mixing 3 different Oils and Vinegar with water. After cleaning they just go in the washing machine and then back into the “rag” jar for more cleaning. Have fun checking out the shops.

      Like

  2. Stacy Whalen

    Thank you for the feature! What a nice selection. I shared on Facebook and Twitter

    Stacy Meadow Muffin Gardens

    Like

Thanks for your comments!

