Do you know who is behind Stormy Designs?

The first time I got introduced to the rubber bands bracelets was about two years ago through my kids. They brought them home from School and soon began making their own.

Gail takes these bands to a whole new level, she does stunning work. But see for yourself.

Where is your center of craft life?
I work from my basement apartment in a town in central Virginia.
What kind of material do you work with and why?
I currently work with my rainbow looms and bands. I like the rainbow loom because it’s portable. I can throw my looms & boxes of bands in my tote bag when I go to either of my daughter’s house to visit.
Why do you craft? 
I have crafted all of my life, I’ve beaded, painted, done woodwork, and worked with polymer clay, to name a few. I just have to have a project that I’m working on or I feel out of sorts.
How did you learn?
I learned how to use the rainbow loom by watching videos online, there’s loads of tutorials to choose from. I’ve gone on to the more advanced tutorials and I’m having fun learning new things.
What was the inspiration for your shops name?
I’ve had that shop name for years at other venues. It’s based on my nickname, Stormy.
What are your can’t-live-without craft-room essentials?
My looms and bands, I have to have them. If I see new colors of bands, I order them. There are so many pretty colors, like the metallics and Persians and medieval.
How would you describe your style?
My style is sort of modern funky I guess with a little country thrown in. I have always marched to the beat of a different drummer, as my Home Ec teacher in high school once told me, so it’s hard to actually pin down a
certain style
Are there any crafters/artists/designers that you particularly look up to?
There are a few on You Tube that I follow that are really good, Yarn Journey is my current favorite.
What do you do to make your workspace an enriching and inspiring place to be?
I live in a small basement apartment and can’t decorate much, but my boxes of bands are sitting on my worktable, right in reach at all times.
What sorts of things are inspiring you right now?
I’ve been thinking of the holidays and found some cute buttons to incorporate into my bracelets.
 
Where do you look for inspiration? 
I get inspired by nature, by colors of beads & buttons and such.
When do you feel the most creative?
I never know when the need to create will hit me, but I usually spend my evenings and weekends crafting.
Thank you, Gail, for sharing a little bit of your crafting life with us.
13 thoughts on “Do you know who is behind Stormy Designs?

  1. tami gray

    Great interview……..Rubber bands……rubber bands, you have turned into such beautiful works of art!!!

    Like

Thanks for your comments!

