Spotlight Friday: Hair

Finding the right stuff for my girls hair has been a very long journey. And I believe it is still not over. I have very thick wavy hair, and lots of it. So for me it was never a big issue to take care of it. I never gave it a second thought.

But wait a minute, what did I get myself into? After my oldest turned 2 I had a problem, and I didn’t know how to solve it. My kids are biracial and they both have beautiful hair, when you know how to take care of it.  Still living in Germany at that time I had no idea who to ask for help. At that time you couldn’t just “google” something. So what to do?

Sometimes my little girl left the house looking something like this !!!!

(source: http://www.blackhairinformation.com/)

My husbands family was not available for me at that time, so I had to try myself.  There was some things that I found to make her hair easier to comb, but there was so many Chemicals in it.

So the first few years, she had to suffer through funny hairstyles and countless hours of hair pulling, because of the kinks.

Once we moved to the US it got a little bit easier to find stuff for African American hair. Which was still not the right stuff because it was too heavy for her hair.

Then one day I stumbled over a blog, she was writing about a book she was just publishing. And yes she was the one that finally got me on the right path.

For the longest time that was my only help I could find. A few years down the road there was a few more popping up writing about how to take care of biracial hair without the Chemicals.  And you could also find a few items in the shops.

We still had to figure out what was best for each of my girls.  Brush or just come? Wet or dry? Shampoo or no shampoo, which conditioner…. and so on…

I found another two books that helped out tremendously.

So I found out that my older one has a type 3C and my younger one a 3A  .

We now , after more than 13 years finally have a routine that works for both.  Get in the shower with conditioner and brush, get your hair wet and then put a big amount of conditioner in your hair and start brushing. Like that the hair will not break and it is very easy to get the kinks out, that formed over night if they didn’t braid their hair proper. (That’s a whole different story to tell,;))

After getting out of the shower, squeeze hair dry and add curl enhancing smoothie and them some curling gel (the stuff we use is nearly all natural). No more brushing, just styling other wise you will have a super frizz in a few hours.

But that means wet hair when you walk out of the house in the morning. Not an issue if it is warm outside. So our non shower procedure comes in form of a spritz bottle. Spray your hair with water, sometimes I add some Essential oils to the water and then start brushing in sections, takes a little longer than in the shower. But like that my girls don’t have soaking wet hair going to School.

Last night I stumbled over an FB post that lead me to this blog http://www.mommypotamus.com/diy-hair-gel/

So now I am debating to make my girls hair gel. I guess I will have to do some more digging. Basically my girls use three things for their hair, a conditioner, a moisturizer and the gel. Let’s see if we can get it more green.

Do you have any tips?

So guess where this led me too? Yes, searching for hair stuff on Zibbet


Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Geek Wall Art Of Hairspray lyrics I can hear the bells hair Musical by GeekSleekSheek

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Hair Caddy by TwinMtnCollections

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Human hair fringe collar by Metamorph

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Hair Accessories, Hair Barrette, Hair Bow, Barrette, Hair Pin, Hair Stick, Wedding Hair, Hair Slide, Wooden Shawl Pin,Hair Comb,Wood Carving
by tangram77

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Ayurvedic shampoo solid bar “Long hair” with Geranium, Thyme & Grapefruit essential oils. by GreenCharm

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
IDIGITAL Scan Long haired woman PEARLS headdress Cherries Renaissance Antique French postcard photo download by FrenchKissed

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Rainbow Hair Pins Set of Six by LeelaBijou

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Unique Hair Band Handmade Accessories
by Wahtveritas

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Hair Balm Pomade with Rosemary, 2oz
by winterskin

For the longest time we could talk them out of wanting to flat iron their hair. But now the questions are starting up again.

So any tips are welcome. I never flat ironed my hair so I have no idea what I need to pay attention to.

3 thoughts on “Spotlight Friday: Hair

  1. I can’t be much help in the hair arena, but I do love that you are trying to find the greenest method that works for everyone.

    Plus, that wooden hair caddy is super cool!

    Like

Thanks for your comments!

