I tried out something new.

I like yarn, but I also like beads. And combining those two intrigued me. I have tried it a little while ago with my crochet hook and yarn and beads. This is the last one in my shop. I am not so good at crocheting as I am with knitting. When I knit I don’t have to look down to know what I am doing, when I crochet I still do have to look to not make any mistakes.

Then last year I bought a German Knitting book that had Accessories knitted with beads. It was on my book shelf for a while. Now this Fall I finally had enough time to figure out what to do and how to do it.

The most challenging part is to figure out how many beads I need for a pattern and then to get all those beads on the yarn.

I started with a scarf, I figured there I wouldn’t have to pay to much attention to the shape of the knitting and can concentrate on the bead pattern. This was the final result.

I think it turned out quite nicely.

So I was looking through the book and found a pair of gloves that I really liked, so I started on the pair of gloves. Each glove has 461 beads threaded on the yarn. Some of the beads where very stubborn and didn’t want to be threaded. Some had flaws, so I sorted them out.

 I

I really like how they turned out.

Now I got brave and started coming up with my own patterns. Finding out how you have to turn the pattern to have a mirror image on the second glove, trial and error.

As I am going through my yarn stash, I see that I don’t have many yarn balls that are thin enough for my beads that I have. So I got a few beads with bigger holes.

I had a request for a pink pair of gloves and I came up with this.

2014-11-27

I had a lot of fun with the mix of beads while creating this pair of gloves.

At the moment I am working on a pair of gloves as a Secret Santa, so I can’t show you any pictures at the moment. But I can tell you that it has something to do with paw prints.

I like where this adventure is taking me at the moment. If you have any questions or would like to have your own pair of gloves or something else, you know where to find me 

Thanks for your comments!

