Spotlight Friday: warm feet

I am sure you are all fed up with all the cold and snow that has been around for the last few weeks. I know I am. We live in the South and usually don’t have cold spills very long. Well we started out with snow on November 1st 2014, it got warmer over Christmas time but since January 2015 we are bundling up. Wearing many layers, adding gloves, scarfs and hats. I ended up making myself some more knitted socks, the commercial ones just didn’t keep me warm the last few weeks. My kids asked for extra gloves.                  DownloadsSpecial my older one, she always has icy fingers. Her finger joints swell and get red (Docs don’t know why, but I suspect the cold and maybe some food) but are not hot, but really cold. So I made her a pair to keep on during class.

I am so happy my Mom has taught me how to knit socks. I use 5 DPN needles and the old fashion way to make the heel. Usually I like knitting the socks with self striping sock yarn. And if it is just a simple pattern it usually takes me around 16 hours to finish one sock for my size 10. A little longer for bigger feet or a more intense pattern.  There are a lot of sock yarns out there that I would love to try. I like using Merino wool, it feels soft ( I can’t handle sheep wool on my skin. I know sensitive me 😉 ) and most of the time washable in the machine. My friend from Germany sends me a ball of Sock yarn once or twice a year. I love those surprises and usually try to make a pair for either her or me. I have been supplying my family and close friends with socks for a long time. Love it.

I decided a few weeks ago to reopen my shop in Etsy again, it never hurts to have your eggs in more than one basket right? So I decided to share my space here to share Spotlight for both places.

Let’s start with the warm feet I found on Zibbet:


Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Pink Stripe Socks for Women by BitsOffTheBeach

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Ladies Hand Knit Cafe au Lait Cabled Socks by NeedfulThingsofSalem

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Tutti-Fruitti Butterfly Childrens Knee Socks (Knitting Pattern PDF) by Cedar Hill Farm Company

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Djfleesh Knit Socks, Hand Knit Socks, Mismatched Socks, Striped Socks, Knit Wool Socks by Djfleesh

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Felted baby slippers, knitted felt booties by NatkaLV

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
The No Wrap Basic Toe Up Sock Pattern – in PDF format – Easy Experienced Beginner
by SusieRoseDesigns

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Custom Handmade Knit NFL MIAMI DOLPHINS Baby Booties in Team Colors With the New Logo by Grrr-lington Baby Dog and more

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Childs Handknit Purple Stripe Crew Socks. Washable Wool and Bamboo. Kids 3 to 4 Years
by BarkingDogDesigns

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Slipper Socks by ShazzasKnits

Those should keep your feet pretty warm!

Etsy Spotlight

warm-feet

Do you have a pair of favorite Socks?

I do and they are in my sock pile for quite some time now. I do have to add a few additions I fear, this weather we are having lately is just not for my feet. Once I get cold feet it’s over and I get cranky. I am so ready for flip flop weather again.

Enjoy your day, where ever you may be.

Thanks for your comments!

