Spotlight Friday: Food on my mind

It has been a few tough months, actually more like a little over a year. My gallstones morphed into all kinds of other symptoms.  After one of the Doctors though he had to tell me that I would be on the purple pill for the rest of my life. I was flabbergasted. Ok, yes I do love purple, but I am not willing to take this poison that will create way bigger problems for me in the long run than what is going on in my gut at the moment.

So I started digging and digging. I found quite some answers. It was time to pull the emergency brake. In the 90’s I found out that I was Lactose intolerant. Since then I have been paying a little more attention to my belly, noticing signs earlier than before. But still I had that chocolate and ice cream here and there. Now thinking back, maybe that wasn’t such a good idea. But being human, it is hard to drop those comfort foods.

This January I decided, this is it. I am not relying on the pharmacy to blanket my symptoms, it is time to get to the root of the problem. Time to pull the brake right now.

So I did. We have pretty much been eating quite healthy already, hardly ever eat out and cook 95% of our food. But there was still flour, grains and sugar in our food. We cut those out. I stumbled over this Paleo lifestyle. I am pinning away with any info and recipes I can find.   I am feeling so much better, dropped quite a bit of pounds on the way too, but that’s not the reason why I got into this.  But all of a sudden me feeling good came to a halt. I am still in the middle  of figuring out what else is wrong.

I think one other major culprit is my lack of proper sleep, this will be quite a undertaking to fix this, but in order to get healthy this needs to be done.

So a few days ago I had some blood drawn to see if there are any other sensitivities, intolerance or allergies I didn’t know about.

I know it will take quite some time to feel super good again, it didn’t happen over time that I got so sick either, but I know the few restrictions that I have in the moment will be for a good reason and maybe some of the restrictions will be lifted again. On the other hand it has been quite an interesting journey so far already. I am spending a lot of cooking and prepping time with my kids in the kitchen. Grocery shopping turned into a scavenger hunt, of who can find that item that doesn’t have the no nos in it. Yes it is a bit of a learning curve, but it has brought our family even more together and that is already a big plus in my book.


Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Pretzel Charm – Miniature Food Jewelry by Lanej Designs

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Food Art, Strawberries, Rhubarb, Red, Orange, Fruit Photograph, 8×10 by artfulnotions

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
watercolor grapes by LightheartedDreamer

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
SWEETIE CREAM PIE Soap by sylvielining

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Watermelon Candle Hand Painted Cone by lessCandles

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Eggplant by BellaBarbaraDesign

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
One more cup of coffee…..polymer clay coffee beans by artemisartdesign

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Spice Rack – eleven by Scalatti

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Felt cake by Irishka

mhhhh, I am getting hungry looking at all those fun food items.

And I found some yummy items on Etsy too:

food-on-my-mind

What is your favorite food?

4 thoughts on “Spotlight Friday: Food on my mind

  1. Really good blog post. I have done my best to eat healthy this life but do fall into the traps of things I shouldn’t have. But as I have gotten older my body doesn’t tolerate some things so if I want to feel good I had to stop. I’m with you… It’s much better getting to the root of it than taking pills to cover the systems. I love so many different things but I think home cooked enchiladas are one of my favorites. We don’t do much eating out either. When you cook at home you know what you are getting…. Have a great day! So many cool foods in your blog post.

    Like

  2. It is hard sometimes, specially when you have kids and it was one of those days you didn’t get around to nothing and have to whip up something in no time. So far we manage do ship around it, some scrambled eggs are always quick 😉 And yes I like knowing what is in my food too.

    Like

Thanks for your comments!

