Spotlight Friday: relax, peace, tranquility

This week I don’t know if I am coming or going. I will be relieved when calmer days arrive.

It actually started last week. Hubby had to take a pneumonia shot, his workplace requires that. The next day he was sick, with chills and an angry tummy. I love my Hubby, but him being sick is a challenge for me. So when I saw this picture on my timeline on FB, I thought “oh, thank you, for whom ever posted it, but that is just what I needed”  It made me smile and it

marriagewas easier to carry on.  Hubby was in quite a grouchy place until Friday. He did go back to work on the weekend. After work the kids and my hubby decided to play football in the yard. Back came a bruised middle finger on my oldest and a bruised foot on my hubby. What where they doing ? Packed ice on everyone and listened to their”ouch, ouch” all evening. Come Sunday, I had two kids sitting on the couch complaining about sore throats. So far I never had them home sick at the same time. But Monday morning, both of them with fever and nearly no voice. The oldest recovered pretty quick and was back in the saddle on Tuesday, the other one finally went back to School on Thursday. In between, hubby stayed home for two days because his foot had swell up so bad that he couldn’t stand anymore.

Take a deep breath I was thinking, you can get through this, you only need to finish one custom order of socks and one of a bride mouse. In my head it was screaming “when will you have time to finish this?”

I did manage to find some time in the evening, while sitting next to my feverish kiddo.

Bride Downloads3So everyone is back to work and School, so I can get back to my business.  So I thought!

On Wednesday, I kept smelling electrical fire, but I couldn’t locate it. I thought it was the hood over the stove. I had hubby take it down, but nothing seemed to be wrong. So I went to bed. During the early morning hours, hubby made himself some breakfast ( I know weird, but because of his weird shifts he is up at the oddest hours), I think he fried some meat. When the kids and I got up around 6:30 am, and wanted some eggs for breakfast nothing was working anymore. All 4 knobs where turned up to high and nothing. Oh boy, I guess we need a new stove.  So we went out after I dropped one kids off in School, other one hasn’t been fever free for 24 h, for to be returning to School, and bought a new stove. “it will be delivered Monday” ….aehm…no we need it today, we can’t do 6 days without a warm meal. We will pick it up in the afternoon.

That we did, hooked it up, cooked 1/2 of a dinner on it before it decided to entertain us with a big boom and a spark. I ran outside to see if the breaker was on off. No, stuck somewhere in the middle. Unplug everything and start searching the internet an electrician.

Asking around on FB, calling friends, but came up empty. The guys that I had found online so far all couldn’t come before Friday. By Wednesday night 11 pm, I was exhausted and to uneasy to go to sleep. I shut the laptop and said to myself ‘ you need to get some sleep”. I tried, but I was tossing and turning, every time I woke up I was sniffing to find out if there was any smoke.

After School drop of, and unhappy kids because they had to eat cereal, I went back to calling electricians. I finally found one that said: I will be out in about 1 – 11/2 and look at it. Yes please!!

He was here, we explained what was going on and he looked at the socket that had made itself known with such a loud noise the night before.

He unscrewed the thing and said “oh, wow”. Well that didn’t sound good to me. And he then showed me this

socket

That didn’t look good. So my next question was: “how longs has this been going on?”  him:”for a long time” me: “what do you understand under a long time, weeks, months?” “no” he said “years, probably since they built the house, who ever was responsible for this socket never tightened the wires properly.”

We where living on a ticking time bomb.  But it is fixed now, our new stove didn’t take any damage of it, and we will have a warm dinner tonight.

I really think, I had enough excitement and stress the past few days. I could do with out it for a while. Spring break is still a bit over a week away. So I will try to sooth my self in some tranquility, peace and relaxation that I can find online.


Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Rocky Mountain stream contemporary mountain landscape 8×10 fine art print
by paintedfeatherart

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
“Tranquility” Mosaic Heart Pendant with CZs on adjustable Heart-Link Chain
by KnowYouAreLoved

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Yoga Bird Dish – Namaste – HandMade Pottery by LoveArtWorks

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Peace Water by honoringmotherearth

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Blue Topaz & Carnelian Empathy & Peace Energy Set
by ErdeGeist

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Peace – Wood Pendant – Chinese Symbol – Amboyna Burl by DustyNewtKeychains

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
White Handwoven Hammock Natural Cotton / Thread Thickness “18”
by hangAhammock

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Bath Bombs,Lavender bath bombs,handmade,homemade
by Arlyn’s Creations

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Tea Teabags 25 Lemon Honey green Hand Blended tea in teabags with a beautiful tin
by teaman

I will take my own advice and will stretch out tomorrow and do only the bare minimum. I will sit on my couch and work on a steam punk college teacher mouse, that I have already started.

So I hope you will have a peaceful and calm weekend, with only good excitement!

relax

Namaste!

15 thoughts on “Spotlight Friday: relax, peace, tranquility

  1. Wow. I’m breathless just from reading this!! I hope you’ll be able to find a little rest now.
    That hammock in particular looks great for some relaxing. It makes me wish I had something to hang it on!

    Like

    1. I am working on it Cat. I will not answer the phone today and chill on the couch, it is supposed to rain. Just the perfect couch weather. The hammock would be wonderful to relax in!

      Like

  2. blnl

    Hope your weekend is event-free! It’s going to be chilly so maybe some soup on the now working stove! Hugs.

    Like

  3. Holy Moly…what a week you’ve had! You definitely deserve a relaxing weekend! Love your Mouse Bride! How cute! Also nice featured items this week. Gonna go share!

    Like

  4. Nancy

    Some days you just can’t win~~LOL! Hope your weekend goes better Frauke! Relaxing sounds good, but when? LOL! Love, love that beautiful hammock & wouldn’t it be nice to lay in now?

    Like

  5. no you can’t Nancy, sometimes it feels like battling windmills. I was told, things always come in set of 3…this one felt more than 3 at a time. And relaxing when you have a family is kind of not in the vocabulary, right? I will get a few minutes of me time in this morning though. I wish I could hang out in the hammock, but it is pouring outside at the moment.

    Like

  6. I will echo the “Wow. What a Week” Sentiment!!
    I’m Super Happy that everyone is OK at your Home and that your Family has healed. I wanted to also Thank You so much for having my Yoga Birdie Namaste Dish as part of this Post, I’m Honored!! I wish you All Good Things, Much Peace, Joy and Light….and a Super Calm Weekend!
    🙂 Kristin Love

    ps…LOVE the Bridal Mouse and the Socks are Rockin’ Awesome!
    🙂

    Like

    1. you are very welcome Kristin. That plate is so cute! And thank you, I love creating those mice characters. I am working on a calm weekend!! Enjoy yours too!

      Like

  7. Better late than never right? I loved your blog and I wanted to say a belated “thank you!” for featuring my “Tranquility” mosaic necklace. It seems that so many people are in a whirl-wind right now and I fondly remember my days of raising children (and a husband!). It may be hard to believe but there will come a day far off in the future that you will miss that chaos…. My kids are all grow now and I see then every once-in-a-while when schedules allow.

    We are also Germans who find their peace in creating handmade things. My mom is 87 and knits or crochets at least 6 hours every day. She has been doing this for over 80 years! I work on my jewelry from 3-10:30 am and then work my “real job”. I’d go crazy if I didn’t have my jewelry.

    I absolutely love your little mice and your socks are beautiful! I will go check out your website. Thank you for the memories!

    Like

    1. Thank you Marion for coming by, and you are more than welcome. Here I go thinking it will calm down a bit as they get older….hahaha….falsch gedacht. But I love it. I had a big amount of health issues the last two years and that took a big toll on my patience and energy. I am slowly coming back and it is hard to keep my creative ideas in a row. I wish you and your loved ones a wonderful Christmas time.

      Like

      1. You are so welcome! I’m excited to get my little mice! We will have almost the whole family represented. I had a lot of health issues the past 2 years as did my mom and brother-in-law – it seems to be going around. I think the level of stress everyone is under is a major factor. We have to stop and think about why we are going so fast on the hamster wheel and what we are expecting to find when we are done running… I know that working on my jewelry is what keeps me sane. I don’t know what I would do if I couldn’t do that every day. I hope you and your family also have a wonderful Christmas. Remember to relax and take time for the important things. I’m happy I found you and your website!

        Like

Thanks for your comments!

