Spotlight Friday: natural cleaning supplies

Growing up in Papua New Guinea, I have learned to appreciate a few things. One of them is electricity when ever you want it and running water.

My Dad is a Lutheran Pastor, and it was his dream to be a Missionary in Africa. Sadly there was no position open there. The next open position was in PNG. I was 7 years old when we packed up all our things, most of them ended up in storage because we could only take necessities. Like tools, clothing anything that would work without electricity. It was all packed up in barrels. Our stuff when on the boat, we took the plane.

I was dropped of in Boarding School, a place called Katherine -Lehmann -School in Wau.  My parents and two siblings went on their new home. It was a 3 hour drive from Mt. Hagen towards the West. Basically in the middle of nowhere.

I came home I think 3 -4 times a year, to visit my parents during School breaks. There I learned that I had it quite good in Wau with running water and electricity.

My parents had a generator on their little farm, that would be started at 6 pm and  turned off at 10 pm every day.

Taking a shower was a new experience.

Our shower looked like this one   You had to heat up some water first, mix it with some cold water, pour it in the bucket. Pull the bucket back up and get ready. You only have a short time.

This is where I learned that we need to conserve our planet, that we should not be wasteful with our resources. Yes, I am one of those people. I get upset when hubby lets the water run to long, when the light is on in a room and nobody in it. One of those who closes all the doors, opens the windows etc.

Yes I am one of those people that does not put any poison on my plants, I want to eat them, not poison myself. I enjoy watching the natural bug control we have outside. Inside usually a shoe will do.

When I was back in Germany I learned that my skin reacts unpleasantly to all those additives, chemicals and sorts of nonsense that you can find in your lotions, soaps and shampoos.

So for me the natural thing to do was, make my own, ditch what I don’t need. My hair has not seen a shampoo in over 15 years.A quick rinse is just fine. Soaps I by online or at our market, made from goat milk or other yummy ingredients.

When my youngest was born I learned very quickly that she had the same skin issues, a little worse than I have. She even reacted to the laundry soap. And I never bought the ones that smelt strong. So next thing for me…..make your own.

so this week I want to share with you all those wonderful people that create cleaning and washing items:


Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Vanilla cold process soap by tenthavenuesoapworks

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Coffee Kitchen Soap by EarthSoapCo

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Goats Milk Soap Beautiful Fragrance (3 5.5oz Bars)
by birdhousesbymark

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Laundry Soap Flakes for Baby’s Delicate Skin – 100% Pure and Natural (1 Load Trial Size) by EarthwiseNaturals

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
SPECIAL Natural Laundry Soap–250 to 500 Loads–Fa
by LuckyGirlBoutique

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Handmade Laundry Detergent for HE Washers and Regular Light Lavender Rosemary Scent
by BriggysBathandBody

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Lavender Dryer Sachets – Laundry Buds – Organic Lavender – Eco Friendly – Lavender Sachet – Handmade in USA
by pomegranatefarm

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Repel Spiders, Dust Mites, and Other Creepy Crawlies with ‘Z-Best Carpet Deodorizer’ by Naturalana

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
All Natural, made-to-order, Customizable, Dishwasher Bombs
by Shelly’s Serenity

I love the smell of natural ingredients in my cleaning supplies.

natural-cleaning

Now off to make some cookies and bake some bread. And you guessed it right, my egg shells will go on my compost.

                                                                 Have a wonderful day!

2 thoughts on “Spotlight Friday: natural cleaning supplies

Thanks for your comments!

