Spotlight Friday: Butterflies

I love watching Butterflies doing their little dance around my flowers and enjoying the sun while taking a little rest or sipping on the nectar. Set off to  test another flower. Spread their wings to reflect the sun. Close them up to pretend they are just a boring one colored butterfly, just to shortly after give you a glimpse of their color explosion on their wings.

I tried to take pictures of them for many years. I only have a few pictures that are clear.

Last year when I was pulling weeds in my veggie garden I had a bunch of these guys nibbling on my just getting bigger veggie plants.

It was not only one or two….it was quite an army destroying my precious young plants. I picked one off and flicked it away.

Then I thought…hold, this does not look like a pest. Let me google what those guys are.

Well I found out they where Monarch caterpillars and that they needed saving not destroying.

So, I let the rest of them feast on my veggies.

This years I stumbled over a FB page that had a little “contest” going on. Send in a picture of you showing the  sign language for “butterfly” Then in return you would get a pack of seeds for  Milkweed, which is the food source of the Monarchs.  And some fun stuff and information to follow your butterfly population in your yard.

monarch

So just the other week we got our package with the seeds and all the good information about the Monarch Butterfly.

After two weeks of constant rain, we finally had the chance to get our seeds in the ground. Now it is a waiting game, hoping those seeds will take and we will get some nice Milkweed plants. And at some point hoping for a lot of happy Butterflies in our backyard.

Here is a little bit of info about, why Milkweed and what you can do to safe the Monarch Butterfly, just click on the picture and it will take you to the page. (http://www.saveourmonarchs.org/the-monarch-story.html)

I think Butterflies are beautiful, stunning creations. So delicate but so influential.

I remember while living in PNG we went to a small Zoo and there was a house with a room full of Insect collections. It made me cringe when I saw all those beautiful big butterflies pinned and kept in a box. And those where no little butterflies.

But so beautiful, so sad that we as humans are destroying their environment.

 

So I am happy that my kiddo and I took another step to make sure we will have a safe place for those wonderful creatures. So they will know they can find food and a place to rest.

Now let’s go hunting for butterflies on www.zibbet.com!


Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Nuno Felted Shawl, Wrap. Butterfly shawl felted with Soft Merino, Silk, Handspun yarn over Chiffon
by kybluefiber

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Handmade hand painted eggshell mosaic butterfly motif wooden box A4 size
by MereteiAnDesign

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
The Butterfly Garden Digital Collage Greeting Card5592
by Cards by Colette

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Walnut Butterfly Octagon Wood Cremation Urn by MemorialsForever

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Make up bag
by Girlofthesixties

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Butterfly Puzzle by mypuzzlemania

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Flutter of the Monarch Butterfly Wings Beaded Earrings
by chickamoo

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Butterfly House w/Slant Roof by birdhousesbymark

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Butterfly and Daisies Crewel Picture
by CastawayCrafts

I got sucked into all those wonderful Butterfly items, it was hard to come back and finish my Spotlight. I hope you like what you saw so far.

Here are some more for you

butterflies

I May the wings of the butterfly kiss the sun
And find your shoulder to light on,
To bring you luck, happiness and riches
Today, tomorrow and beyond.
~Irish Blessing

12 thoughts on “Spotlight Friday: Butterflies

  1. What a wonderful collection! The other day I found Ponder sitting and looking at a butterfly on the ground. I don’t even know how it made its way in, and it looked dead, but when I picked it up, it suddenly opened its wings, so I carefully put it on the window sill hoping it would recover. It was gone later, so I hope it did.

    Like

  2. Love love love this collection. The spring day when I see my first butterfly again is wonderful. Thanks for the Irish poem. Never saw that one before.

    Like

    1. Thank you Stacy. The poem I kind of stumbled over it and loved it. Just the other day I was thinking about you. Because everyone here has started using my vanilla chap stick and I couldn’t find it anymore. Will have to get some for all those lips in this family 😉

      Like

Thanks for your comments!

