Spotlight Friday: veggies and fruits

The other day I stumbled over Jamie Olivers TED film. I watched it and was flabbergasted. Well, not really. I new a lot of things are wrong with what people eat. What shocked me where the numbers.

Jamie showed a part in his movie, where he went to an Elementary School with a basket full of veggies and fruits. And the kids could not name them. That made me really sad. 

My kids take lunchboxes to School and I try to have a wide variation of fruits and veggies for them to eat, plus a home backed bread and some home made fruit roll ups, jellos, chocolate mousse or nuts or some beef jerky.

And you will not believe what stories they sometimes come home with. “Mami, don’t give me this or that any more, because the other kids will eat it all, they think it is so yummy.”  “XY, took this or that out of my lunch because he didn’t know what it was and tried it and liked it…”   

In our Elementary School they have a Gardening group, I think that is a good start. And I hope they will widen that program.

When I was in 7th Grade we had cooking in School for a whole year. We learned about how to clean, prepare and cook the food. Also how to set a table and table manners. I think a lot of kids would benefit from a class like this. I know that a lot of families live a hectic life, both parents working and then from one afternoon / evening sports event to the next. There is not much time to be spent in the kitchen.

As soon as it got warm this year, we started making our own Popsicles. OMG, I can’t keep those in the freezer, they disappear so fast. We come up with different creations every time. We had some failures, but also some real yummy ones. This weekend we will try this one pops

This sounds so good and refreshing.

I love this time of year, the variations of fruits and vegetables get bigger. Eating in Season makes sure you will get the most of Vitamins and Co.  

I went to Zibbet to find fruits and vegetables and found these!


Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Debra Bavaria Salad, Fruit or Sandwich Plates
by LoliBDinnerware

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Orange Fruit Slice Earrings by alenazstyle

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Fruit Cloth Un-Paper Towels
by greenpapaya

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Oh Nuts – original watercolor painting
by MaineArtist

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Vegetable Quilt
by MPBetc

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Ceramic Garden Markers, Set of Three, Vegetables and Herbs
by sumiko

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Lettuce, giclee print, 8 1/2 in x 11 in by ChavahsGarden

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Felt Two Peas in a Pod Key Chain by Becky Lynn Creations

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Statement Necklace Happy Vegetables by AbraKadabra Jewelry

How much fun was that? 

And I found some wonderful items on Etsy as well:

fruits-and-veggies

I hope you have a wonderful day and get some time to relax!!

Thanks for your comments!

