Spotlight Friday: Fantasy

The other day, I was sitting in my bathroom and saw this stuck to the side of my bathtub.

bathI had posted the picture on my FB page and got some really good replies, you can look at them here.

It is wonderful how our fantasy works. How everyone can see the same picture but totally interpret it differently.

Studying Psychology turned me into a “I want to find out why” person. I blame it on  Sigmund Freud.  I like getting to the bottom of things.  So I find it fascinating what people see, even though everyone else is looking at the same picture, they see so many different things.

A similarly positive view of fantasy was taken by Sigmund Freud who considered fantasy (German: Phantasie) a defence mechanism. He considered that men and women “cannot subsist on the scanty satisfaction which they can extort from reality. ‘We simply cannot do without auxiliary constructions,’ as Theodor Fontane once said … [without] dwelling on imaginary wish fulfillments.”[6] As childhood adaptation to the reality principle developed, so too ‘one species of thought activity was split off; it was kept free from reality-testing and remained subordinated to the pleasure principle alone. This activity isfantasying…continued as day-dreaming.[7] He compared such phantasising to the way a ‘nature reserve preserves its original state where everything…including what is useless and even what is noxious, can grow and proliferate there as it pleases’.[8]

Daydreams for Freud were thus a valuable resource. “These day-dreams are cathected with a large amount of interest; they are carefully cherished by the subject and usually concealed with a great deal of sensitivity … such phantasies may be unconscious just as well as conscious.”[9] He considered “These phantasies include a great deal of the true constitutional essence of the subject’s personality” and that the energetic man “is one who succeeds by his efforts in turning his wishful phantasies into reality,” whereas the artist “can transform his phantasies into artistic creations instead of into symptoms … the doom of neurosis.”[10] (Wikipedia)

I think fantasy is a wonderful thing!

Here is what I saw in the picture, someone having fun dancing. It made me smile! Made me remember the small things in life!

dance

That is what I used for my inspiration today to search on Zibbet:


Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Frou Frou Maidens and Bluebells Digital Collage Greeting Card5900
by Cards by Colette

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Pink and Silver Brocade Masquerade Mask with Pink Shabby Chic Flower
by Daragallery

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Mermaid Beauty
by Whimsy

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Tree Face Pendant
by KFPCreations

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Luxurious Extravagant “Alice in Wonderland” Mini-Album and Photo Keepsake Book
by Enchanted Revelries

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Bird Nest and Branches Headdress by Katkaland Studio

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Clay Fairy Door Tutorial
by elizabethburtt

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Drawing “Deportista” original Watercolors on paper 25x32cm.
by artbellido

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Seal Wife art cloth doll needle felt seal soft sculpture selkie folktale
by ConchyGemDolls

And I also went to find some fantasy items on Etsy:

fantasy

I also wanted to share this music with you. This music inspires me to quite a few fantasies.

What did you see in my bathroom picture?

2 thoughts on “Spotlight Friday: Fantasy

  1. Great items!
    I’m almost surprised that I didn’t construct a face out of your picture which I usually do (see pareidolia) 😀

    Like

Thanks for your comments!

