Spotlight Friday: medical alert

The other day I found my old medical alert necklace, it wasn’t even readable anymore. Not to mention the phone numbers and info was not up to date any more.

So that sent me on a chase to find a replacement. I was looking for a charm or something in that direction, so I could make my own bracelet.

I have a Autoimmune Disease called  Idiopathic thrombocytopenic purpura  or short ITP. ITP is a  disorder that can lead to easy or excessive bruising and bleeding. The bleeding results from unusually low levels of platelets — the cells that help your blood clot.      

I always bruised easy as a kid and teenager, nobody thought anything about it, they just thought I was clumsy.  The first time I heard that my bruising wasn’t “normal” was after my first miscarriage, after a battery of tests.  What caused the ITP could not be figured out , hence the idiopathic (adjective, Pathology: of unknown cause, as a disease), just controlled. That we did and life went on. 

ITP comes with mood swings, muscle aches, being depressed and tired, and for me with very heavy and long periods.

Things people don’t see from the outside, symptoms I battle every day.  I just found out the other day that Purple is the color for Platelet Disorder and September the awareness month. I guess Purple was always my favorite color for a reason.

I had one pregnancy that was pretty normal, besides regular blood checkups and at that point iron deficiency. It took me a long time to recover from this though. That is something I had to learn the hard way, because of the clotting issue it takes my body way longer to heal. Very hard for me to give my body the time to heal and not rush into things, because I think they need to get done. Often I felt like others see me as to lazy.

I suffered another miscarriage and had a very complicated pregnancy after that. I had to get quite a few prednisone shots and visited the “vampire”( get my blood work done)every other week. My youngest had to enter the world before her time, because of too many risks me loosing my life.

Long recovery after this one as well as you can imagine. After that I had it pretty good under control. until two years ago when I came down with the Helicobacter pylory. Now it is back to 3 monthly blood check ups. I had a few months of iron intake and some other surgical stuff done, my platelets are not back to normal but at least stable.It took quite some research to find out what food helps with blood clotting and which ones are risky, having to pay attention to even essential oils or spices is sometimes very draining. But to be on the safe side I thought I should get my medical alert bracelet up to date again and wear it. A lot of people don’t know that ITP exists, so just to be on the safe side.

Looking for medical items on Zibbet:


Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Medical Alert Copper Cuff Bracelet for Men by loveitpersonalized

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Male CMA ( Certified Medical Assistant ) Retractable ID Badge Holder
by TornEdgesEmporium

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Medic Alert Bracelet – Blue Green Glass Beaded
by carelebeads

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
EMT Birthstone Bracelet – EMT Charm Bracelet – Love My Emt – Emt Pride
by DenofFox

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Sterling Silver Medical Alert Bangle Bracelet – sterling silver wire and disc – medical alert symbol stamp
by SusansJewelryDesigns

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
I’m On Meds Medical ID Tag – Indoor Only Medical Alert ID Tag, Child ID Tag, Dog Tag, Cat Tag
by ebonypaws

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Cufflinks Caduceus Medical Symbol Gold and Black Groomsmen Wedding Party Fathers Dads Men
by BelugaHomeStudio

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Steampunk triangular inhaler keychain or pendant for non-round style inhalers
by TheAmethystDragonfly

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
MMJ carry or storage box.
by Woodensignsanddesigns

on Etsy I found quite a few options for bracelets:

medical-alert-bracelets

Off to order my custom charm, with all the important information on it

I wish you a wonderful day!

4 thoughts on “Spotlight Friday: medical alert

  1. So sorry you had and have to deal with a chronic condition. I have lupus so can easily relate to your frustrations, difficult pregnancies and the ignorance of some people in their attitude when appearances look so normal. Hope you have more good days than bad!

    Like

    1. thank you Stacy, and I wish the same to you. A positive attitude goes a long way, but sometimes I do get defeated. Usually I brush off and get back up. The last two years really put me to the test though. I hope you had a wonderful 4th of July weekend!!!

      Like

Thanks for your comments!

