Spotlight Friday: sewing

This Summer I got quite a few of my Stethoscope cozies done. I do still have to take pictures and list them.

butterfly cozy

For some reason though I did less knitting during this time of year than in others. I rekindled the love to my sewing machine.  It started during  Spring, when I started building a cloth stash for my daughter. Later I joined a few sewing groups on Facebook. I was just following. I had sewn a few clothing pieces during my teenager years, a blazer a few skirts and some other things. I was still a little bit intimidated to sew anything else but straight lines again. It has been a long time that I had touched my machine. I had a sewing machine but mostly just used it for mending when I lived on my own. I rediscovered sewing after my first kid. I stared with a pair of shorts and worked myself up to some outfits. Then packed the sewing machine away for a few years again.  I made 3 t shirt quilts, they are a hot item specially in the summer time to cover up with. Still working on my 4th, so everyone will have one.

This summer was very hot, so we had a lot of indoor time to kill. So I was browsing the internet for ideas. I found a few things and ran them by the kids. In the library we stumbled over a book about how to sew t shirt into something else. And that is what we did. We raided our closets and our friends for unused unwanted t shirts and got to work. I would love to show you some pictures, but most of the items are in the laundry pile at the moment. I am happy that they get worn a lot and it is a joy to see our summer project on my kids.


Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
VINTAGE CLOISONNE THIMBLE W/ FLOWERS
by nanasopentrunk

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Misses’ Pants, Shorts, Vest Top, Unlined Jacket, Go Everywhere Summer Wardrobe Simplicity 7181 Pattern UNCUT Sizes 6-14 by ecoQuilter

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
PINS AND NEEDLES BASKET plastic canvas PATTERN by PatternsAndSuch

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Bernina Sewing Bobbins For Art Sewing Assemblage Set of 15 by ThreeFrenchHens

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
6 sets of (Black)Tim Holtz Sewing Room Chipboard Die Cut
by SimplyPaveena

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Tea Cup Sewing Kit by GiftsfromtheHart

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Sew much fun by bellaboutiqueinvitations

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Butterfly Wooden Heart Shaped Buttons-10
by Chayestamp

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Antique 1901 Singer Sphinx Treadle Sewing Machine-Heavy Duty
by FadedFlea

(Click on the single picture and it will take you to the Zibbet shop.)I learned to sew on a old Singer machine like that. I remember sewing a white bunny with wire in the ears, when I was about 10 years old in Boarding School. I know  I gave this bunny to some kid that was very sad and was crying about something. I still see the bunny right in front of me. I can’t for some reason remember who that little kid was I gave the bunny to. I loved sewing on that machine though, I spent a lot of time in that sewing room peddling away and creating.

sewing

Click on the picture, and it will take you to the Etsy treasury.

The other day I found some fabric for $1 a yard, so I got quite a bit and hope to find some time to get to sew something out of it  in the near future.

Do you sew? What are your projects?

6 thoughts on “Spotlight Friday: sewing

  1. I absolutely love sewing but just don’t do much of it now. There was a time when I was younger and just starting out that I made all my clothes. It was great therapy. You make me want to start again 🙂

    Like

    1. I would love to do it a bit more, but I don’t have a sewing area, so every time we have dinner or lunch I have to move everything. But it is so rewarding. Maybe one day I will have a designated area and don’t have to clean up every time in the middle of the project. Share with us Adrienne if you decide to start sewing again!

      Like

  2. blnl

    I sewed a great deal as a teenager-made most of my clothes for college but then my machine turned evil! It hates me & I only use it for mending now although I made curtains for #1 grandson’s room….13 years ago!

    Like

  3. Thanks so much for featuring a pattern from my Zibbet shop! I too fluctuate between sewing and knitting and other mediums.

    Like

Thanks for your comments!

