Spotlight Friday: Backpack

I started School in the 70’s, in Germany. And probably had a book back something like this one. 

I can’t really remember what color it was. All I vividly have in memory are those yellow itchy hats with a big pompom on the top. They called them “school beginners hats” and they where for every First Grader, so they would be more visible for the   traffic. A lot of kids walked to School, all by themselves. Like I did as well, with my big book bag on the back, the yellow itchy thing on my head and my little brother on my hand. I dropped him off in Kindergarten and then went to School.

Later the book bag style change a little, although I did have another leather book bag in the late 80’s.It had the colors dark blue and beige. I was not allowed to get one of the backpacks that started to come out. “They are not good for your back” my grandma always said and there was no further discussion.

As soon as I hit 8th grade I ditched that thing and finally got me a backpack.

My kids did get a German book bag from their Grandpa and used it proud for the first 2 years of School. 

It is still in our closet. They loved it because nobody else had one like this. Well, until rolling book bags where allowed in School.  A few years ago, my youngest wanted a Hello Kitty book bag. That was just not in the budget. So we picked a plain purple colored backpack and painted some Hello Kitty on  it ourselves.

What kind of bag did you have, when you went to School?


Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Happy backpack – toddler size by CreativePlay

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Cat Angel Backpack Bag, Purse, Sack
by sewraedesigns

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Knitted drawstring backpack. Size small for kids! Handmade. Fully lined.
by Classically Twisted

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Mask / Face Print Backpack with Ribbon and multi-pockets by PlumroseFern

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Lined Zippered Backpack PDF Sewing Pattern – Amy by ChrisW Designs by ChrisWDesigns

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
4 colors canvas backpack & school bag & laptop bag by LoveRonnie

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Hand crochet purse/backpack
by Christycutecreations

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Nautical Backpack Tote with Embroidery (Both Sides)
by Beachside Eclectibles

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
original denim shoulder bag with applique “good luck”. Bag, hand bag, backpack
by CREATIVICKY

If you click on the picture, it will take you to the individual shop on Zibbet.

So many fun bags.

Did you keep your School bag?

backpack

If you click on the treasury, it will take you to the Etsy Treasury and you can have a better look at each item.

I hope you enjoyed this weeks picks.

Have a wonderful day!!

2 thoughts on “Spotlight Friday: Backpack

Thanks for your comments!

