Spotlight Friday: Advent

Yes, I do know, it is still only October. It got cold here in SC for a few days and that kind of put me in the mood to get my Advent and Christmas stuff going. I usually collect throughout the year, little things, to put into my kids Advent calendar. Stuff like, nail clippers, chap sticks, key chains etc. Little things that fit. And as well a few pieces of chocolate.

This year for some reason I was slacking. The last few years my youngest still got a Lego or Playmobile Calendar from her Opa in Germany. This year she decided she was too old for it. That put me in the pickle of “oh oh….I don’t have one made” and “I don’t have anything to put in”

I found some black and some blue felt in my fabric stack and figured I will sew 24 stockings and hang them on a garland. Something like this.                                              So I need to get cracking and cut those out and start sewing, because I only have a little over 4 weeks to get it done.

I love the Advent time, I am a real sucker for everything that makes the house feel comfy and warm. Little incense smoker men in all shapes and sizes. The Advent wreath, with for candles for every Sunday. The nuts, the Lebkuchen (ginger bread)   Friends of ours in Germany send as a care package every year, so we can enjoy the German Gingerbread. I love them so much for doing this. And don’ get me started on the Marzipan, a must have for the Advent time.         I think I have spoiled my kid on all those German goodies, because they don’t want anything else during this time. This year our Ginger bread package came early. I tried to hide them in the freezer so we would have them for the Christmas time. But guess what!!! They already found them and dug into them, little buggers, even the hubby couldn’t keep his fingers off. Luckily we have a Aldi in town and they do carry German Ginger bread, even though it’s not the one from Nuremberg.

So now I am on the hunt to get everything, and have all things ready before the first Advent, which falls on November 29th this year.


Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
magnetic calendar countdown by colorstorydesigns

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Noel Advent Wreath by DeesSilkAndBasketCreations

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
A Christmas Carol Mini Journal byDorothyjane

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Advent Calendar Ornaments by OnyxStamps

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Silver bells Christmas Hoop earrings with color bead choice by TheAmethystDragonfly

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Holiday Sign “Just Days ‘Till Christmas”, Christmas Countdown by Hint of Vintage

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Christmas Candle Holders- Primitive, Folk Shabby Chic, Made from Reclaimed Wood with Wreath and Bells by Altered Nature

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Wise Men Still Seek Him; 12×12 Christmas Nativity Chalkboard Sign by Dandelion Wishes Design

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
SNOWMAN ORNAMENT Snowman Decoration in Raspberry Set of 2
by ByFreddismom

If you click on an individual picture it will take you to the respective Zibbet shops

Of course I had to go hunting on Etsy as well, to see what kind of Advent goodies I can find there. If you click on the picture it will take you to the Etsy treasury and from there you can go to the individual shops.

advent

When do you start getting ready for the Advent and Christmas time, any specific tricks you could share to make it less stressful?

10 thoughts on “Spotlight Friday: Advent

  1. Beautiful collections as always! The other day my sister and I talked about a Christmas movie in a different context and I had a sudden wave of Christmas mood 😀

    Like

  2. It’s Christmas all year ’round in our house as we lovingly hand sew each of The Original Handmade Jesse Trees – so I’m always ready to see Christmas cheer in stores and homes – even as early as October! Thanks for including us in your Advent post and Merry Christmas! ~Lisa

    Like

Thanks for your comments!

