Spotlight Friday: try controlling unruly hair

Ever wondered why my shops name has the word Fuzzy in it?

Well I will let you in on a little secret.

Let’s clear up the word meaning first :  Definition of FUZZY

1
:  marked by or giving a suggestion of fuzz <a fuzzy covering of felt>
2
:  lacking in clarity or definition <moving the camera causes fuzzy photos>
3
:  being, relating to, or invoking pleasant and usually sentimental emotions <warm and fuzzyfeelings>
fuzz·i·ly\ˈfə-zə-lē\adverb
The people who know me, have heard  my hubby call me Fuzzy from the very beginning, not because he couldn’t pronounce my name properly, but because of my hair. It had it’s on life. It didn’t matter how I tried to contain it, it always found a way to make it’s own statement.
When I was little, I think my Mom had issues with it as well and decided at some point just to let my hair do what it wanted.
wild hair
I have looked through all my pictures to find proof, if there was ever a hair bow or clip or anything to contain this mane. But there wasn’t. So over the years I just let my hair live freely on my head. I was never one to pay a lot of attention to it anyway. I was too busy exploring the world. I have  a lot of hair and very thick hair, and on top of it some unruly curls.
So in my twenties I tried different hairstyles. Mostly ended up with something like this:
haare
This is how it looked like without doing anything to it. No hairspray, no gel, no curling iron. Just a quick brush through and out of the door.
Believe me I tried it all.
I had my Mom butcher my hair into all kind of weird hairstyles until I put my foot down and went to a hair dresser.
But I was never one to religiously go back and have my hair trimmed every 4 weeks.
So after having kids, my hairstyle was mostly a quick ponytail with frizz and a lot of hair sticking out in all directions.
Now ,that I finally have the time again to take a little bit more time in the mornings without constantly being interrupted plus my oldest wanting to try different hairstyles on me, I caved and well trying to pay more attention to my crazy hair.
Now in my forties, with a lot of gray on my head I decided to dye it. I am not ready to go fully gray yet. I have my kiddo or hubby dye my hair with henna, about every 4-6 weeks.
What is henna?
Red henna, a green powder that smells like hay, is Lawsonia inermis, commonly known as henna. The leaves of the henna plant have a red-orange dye molecule, Lawsone, a napthaquinone. Henna will stain your hair red-orange; but this stain is translucent and will combine with your natural color.
You know I am not a big fan of chemicals and try to avoid them as much as possible. So yes, the first day after dying my hair, you might smell a slight hay like aroma around me.
In the mean time my hair has passed my shoulder blades, usually about that time I go and chop it off to a shorter version, but I decided to see how long I can stand to let it grow and see how it will look.
But I can’t stand having hair falling in my face all day while I am working, so I pull it back.
Is there anything else than the old pony tail?
Yes, so much fun hair accessories, so let me go search some of those and see what I can dig up.

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Silver Plated Floral Concho Leather Hair Slide by Daragallery

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Unique Hair Band Handmade Accessories
by Wahtveritas

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
4 1/2″ Lavender Cold Porcelain Floral Barrette by RosePetals

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Small oxidized copper hair barrettes 2 1/2in(58mm) by Dawily

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Kimono Inspiration Gold Outlined Cherry Blossom Soft Headband by Bargain Headbands

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Sakura Hairstick/Sweater Pin
by CeebWassermann

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Jelly Beans Hair Pin
by WillowBe

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Set Of Four Hair Clips – Blue And Violet
by LeelaBijou

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Copper wire woodland elf crown with flowers and leaves
by TheAmethystDragonfly

I love to find unconventional things. Pieces you can’t find in every store, to display my personality.

unruly-hair

Now do you know why there is Fuzzy in my Shop name?

Yes, because my hair has a life of it’s own and usually stands off in all different kind of directions.

Add a little bit of humidity from the South and you have a recipe for unruliness.

Sometimes the names like Alfalfa fall or Einstein. But I am ok with it, because my hair is a part of me and I don’t like fitting in drawers, and my hair just displays who I am.

4 thoughts on “Spotlight Friday: try controlling unruly hair

  1. Great post, great picks!
    My hair is exactly the opposite, it’s like a tame waterfall … falling straight down 😉

    Like

Thanks for your comments!

