Spotlight Friday: face paint

or now a days called makeup. Spending time in Papua New Guinea  I grew up with people painting their faces for special ceremonies. For festivals  called “sing sing”, a Singsing is a gathering of a few tribes or villages in Papua New Guinea. People arrive to show their distinct culture, dance and music. The aim of these gatherings is to peacefully share traditions , looking something like this.

The face painting or now called makeup goes all the way back to the ancient Egyptians. The well off women wanted to look their best and applied paint to their faces.

A few weeks ago my oldest asked me if I had some tape. “what do you need this for?” I asked, because usually my tape gets taken and never brought back and disappears in the never lands of my kids rooms.  “I am putting on makeup” was her answer.  So I followed her and said, I’d like to see that. I was never one to wear makeup every day for my day to day life. If I went out or to a birthday party or so, then yes. Nothing fancy though.

I was curious what she was going to do. And this is what I learned.

And I must say it looks good on her. It is not a in your face makeup. I was uneasy about the time my kid would start putting paint in her face. I don’t really know why, maybe of the stigma that makeup had when I was a teenager.  Of course I had to go investigate what kind of stuff is in those make up tubes and discussed with her what she puts on her skin. So we went and found some less chemical laden items.

When searching make up on Zibbet, I found this:

(click on the individual picture and it will take you to the shop)


Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Makup Remover All Natural by Tinker Today

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Naturalana’s ‘HIT ME’ (Highly Intense True Mineral Eyeshadow) Vegan Mineral Makeup in ‘Golden Eye’ 5 gram jar with sifter by Naturalana

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
20 pocket Makeup Brush Holder-Black and White Trees by RuthiesGirlDesigns

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Golden Medium Mineral Foundation by FreshSugarRox

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
MOROCCAN KHOL POWDER Eyeliner by MoroccanSelection

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Raspberry Jam Luscious Lip Shimmer
by Luscious Lather

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Cuticle Oil – Handmade, Vegan, Nail Care by emilyshandmadesoaps

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Compact Mirror Makeup by ByMiMi

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Face Paint Kit, Assorted Colors by Nature Provides

and I also found some fun makeup things on Etsy:  (click on the picture and it will take you to the treasury on Etsy and there you can get to the individual shops)

face-paint-or-now-called-makeup

So do you have a daily makeup routine?  What is your favorite part?

3 thoughts on “Spotlight Friday: face paint

  1. Having such light eyelashes, eyeliner and mascara are the only things I regularly use. Maybe I am missing a femininity gene, or perhaps cheap or just lazy, but I never really got into the whole make-up routine. The bad habit of pushing my time in getting ready to get out the door doesn’t help either. But I am very glad now that my daughter is grown, there is much more awareness for safer choices in cosmetics.

    Like

Thanks for your comments!

