Spotlight Friday: headgear

In German you call it a “Kopfbedeckung”. (some examples for headgear can be found here: http://www.macmillandictionary.com/us/thesaurus-category/american/hats-and-other-things-worn-on-the-head)

In my teens and early adulthood I used to wear something on my head nearly year round.  In the Winter time I don’t leave the house without something covering my ears, now, still. But I don’t wear hats as often as I did. While living in CA, I had a wide brimmed hat, made from straw, so my face wouldn’t get burnt.

I might have to change that habit and find me some cute headgear again. I like how I looked with something on my head.

hats

Hats are worn for various reasons. For ceremonies and rituals, for protection or fashion. Everyone wears them, from baby to grandparents. They were markings of a class to which a wearer belonged and are used to differentiate nationalities, branches and ranks in military.

While there are not many official records of hats before 3,000 BC, they probably were commonplace before that. Archaeologists think that the Venus of Brassempouy from 26,000 years ago may depict a hat. One of the earliest known confirmed hats was worn by a bronze age man (nicknamed Ötzi) whose body (including his hat) was found frozen in a mountain between Austria and Italy. He is thought to have lived in around 3,300 BC. His hat was a bearskin cap with a chin strap, made of several hides stitched together, essentially resembling a Russian fur hat without the flaps. (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hat)

Elvis Pompilio and Fabienne Delvigne are best known due to  the European Royalty wearing their hats.

Members of the royal family leave Westminster Abbey in central London

 

In North America, the well-known cowboy-hat manufacturer Stetson made the headgear for the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and the Texas Rangers.[18]

1860

 


Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Green-red hat,striped hat by piqi

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
mad hatter top hat alice in wonderland by WildRoseAndSparrow

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Viking baby hat PDF crochet pattern by lovinghandscrochet

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
VALENTINE girl gorgeous in big picture hat. digital download by shopname

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Boys Linen Suit by FancyFlax

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Royal Blue Hat with Black Ostrich Plumes by AStepIntoThePast

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Lisu Style/ Hat fancy/ by ningnet

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Roulette Beaded Hatband, Handmade
by CCCreations

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
PERSONALIZED Whistle Engineer Set with Engineer Hat and Bandana
by AllAboardWhistle

those are some wonderful creations, just click on the picture you like and it will take you to the individual Zibbet shop.

Let’s see what fun and fancy headgear I can find on Etsy, to see the single item you will have to click on the picture and it will take you to the treasury on Etsy.

headgear

So what is your favorite headgear to wear? Let’s see some pictures.

I wish you all a wonderful weekend.

6 thoughts on “Spotlight Friday: headgear

  1. Such a fun collection! I have a very tiny vintage hat collection and often wish I had the clothes to go with them (and the ability to put my long hair up to work for the outfit). My favorite is my bowler which I got at a Californian fleamarket, it’s the only one that gets the chance to get out there from time to time 😉

    Like

  2. Alaina

    What a fascinating history! Thanks for sharing.

    Thank you also for featuring my hat pattern. I also sell patterns on Ravelry (lovinghandcrochet) and Etsy (lovinghandscrochet), and I sell physical items on Etsy, as well.

    Like

      1. Alaina

        Unfortunately, no. I haven’t knitted since I was 11 years old and have forgotten how. I hope to get back into it sometime in the future, though, and I’m sure it won’t be too long after that before I start doing knitting patterns.

        Like

Thanks for your comments!

