Spotlight Friday: backpacks

Ok, I have to share this one with you. The last few weeks I have been getting so many compliments about my miniature backpack, that I carry around with me everywhere. “This is the cutest bag ever, where did you get it” is what I hear most of the time. I usually see a disappointing face after I tell them that I brought this bag with me from Germany. It is one of the few pieces I had gotten in the 90’s and used nearly daily ever since. I am not a person who has a lot to carry around with me, just the essentials. My wallet, my keys, my phone and a little pouch with band aids etc.  So my purse really doesn’t need to be big. Plus I like to have my hands free and have nothing constricting me while I have to tend to kids. That was my main reason why I was looking for a backpack at the time. Working with kids and going on trips with them, specially in Munich when we usually took the U-Bahn    u-bahn_muenchen_freimann_zugtyp_a

to get to either the ice skating rink or the Zoo, trying to keep about 30 kids in check with only 2-3 grown ups, I couldn’t bother having a bag that constantly slipped off my shoulders.

And then I found thisgreen

It is about 5 inches x 7 inches x 3.5 inches. And it has seen a lot of places, but it’s showing it’s age now. The zippers keep coming off and the color is starting to fade. This is my go to bag. I do have a few other purses, but I grab this one all the time. So I have started to look if I could find a replacement mini backpack. This one surely has a bit more life in it, but just in case. If you find one let me know.

 

A backpack — also called bookbag, knapsack, packsack, pack, or bergen — is, in its simplest form, a cloth sack carried on one’s back and secured with two straps that go over the shoulders, but there can be variations. Lightweight types of backpacks are sometimes worn on only one shoulder strap.

Backpacks are commonly used by hikers and students, and are often preferred to other bags for carrying heavy loads or carrying any sort of equipment, because of the limited capacity to carry heavy weights for long periods of time in the hands or one shoulder.

In ancient times, the backpack was used as a means to carry the hunter’s larger game and other types of prey and as a way of easier transport for other materials. In the cases of larger hunts, the hunters would dismember their prey and distribute the pieces of the animal around, each one packing the meat into many wrappings and then into bags which they placed on to their backs. The bag itself would be made up of animal hide and skin and sewn together by animal intestines, which would be woven together tightly to make a sturdy thread-like material.(https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Backpack)

In Germany we call a backpack a rucksack. And I just read that there is a difference in the English Language between those two :

From what I can find, Rucksack is derived from Germany. ‘Ruecken’ meaning back in German and ‘Sack’ (meaning bag) obviously means a sack. So, a bag for your back.

If we look at Backpack, well there isn’t a whole lot of difference now is there, except it being in English, it is obviously a sack, bag, for your back too. The word backpack seemed to originate in the US.

As far as I know the word rucksack isn’t used in the US at all. All packs are called backpacks with a distinction made for day packs, a smaller pack for a day. Rucksack is however more common in the UK and Europe.

It seems that both the words rucksack and backpack are used in the UK.

The question then becomes, what is the difference? I saw  someone mentioning that a rucksack is a mid sized pack used for multi day camping hikes. A backpack however is different in terms of size and use in that it is bigger than a rucksack and is used for very long treks and trips into the wilderness, so for weeks to months.

But what ever you call your “back sack” I hope you have fun using it.

In the mean time I will be searching the handmade pages and see if I can find some back pack beauties.
This is what I found on Zibbet:

click on the picture you like and it will take you to the individual shop.


Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
navy blue and sky blue combination – Handmade Leather Backpack by Artisanworkshop2014

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Handmade Backpack ( Made by Rug Pieces ) by marlarugs

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Nude Leather Messenger Backpack by KiliKili

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Backpack Card by ScrapPantry

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
man applique handmade backpack by DovilesDizainas

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Diaper Backpack by SewSewed

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Hand crochet purse/backpack
by Christycutecreations

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Lego Inspired Backpack by MiniatureMonkeyCreations

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
4 colors canvas backpack & school bag & laptop bag
by LoveRonnie

 

And the treasures I found on Etsy: Click on the Etsy Treasury  picture and it will take you to the Treasury page. You can find the individual shop from there.

backpack

What is your favorite to go bag?

One thought on “Spotlight Friday: backpacks

Thanks for your comments!

