Spotlight Friday: SNOW

I am so happy that I got to see a little bit of sunshine this morning when I dropped the kids off at School. By the time I come home the sun is just coming up in our back yard. And it was a nice warm sunrise. aufgang

Now, twenty minutes later it is all gone. Overcast and dreary. The Upstate already got some snow, we might see a little bit of sleet and some flurries over the next few days, there is a chance of snow as well. And do you know what this means for SC?  Everybody will run out to the stores to buy milk and bread, like there will be no tomorrow. I decide to stay home. Usually I go grocery shopping every two weeks and buy what I need for at least 14 days. Our freezer is normally full and the fridge fairly good stocked.

I miss the Winters I experienced living in Regen. Walking to School sometimes meant to be wet or having ice stuck to your clothes by the time you got there. One winter I remember that the snow was up to over my knees ( I am 5 ‘ 11″). But it was so silent, the sun was just coming up and everything looked so pretty. I had to walk about 20 min to School. That morning it took a little longer, the roads where not cleared yet and the little walkways I took had not been touched either. The air was crispy but so fresh, you could smell the snow.   When my Dad had a weekend off he would take the whole family to go cross country skiing .

This picture was taken in 84 or 85, on a Confirmation trip. I am the one with the back to you.  confi freizeit

I miss being able to do things like that here. But on the other hand I am glad that the winters here in SC are fairly short and uneventful.

A friend of mine from my teenager times in Regen is taking stunning pictures of the town and the life around her. I get to see places that I have long left and miss dearly. She is keeping my memories alive. http://www.regenobjektiv.de/

At the moment she is taking a lot of ice bubble pictures and I can’t decide which one is the prettiest. They are all so fascinating.

944072_10208495923894537_4588988678034873524_n

You can find more of her work right here . There is a section where you could order some calendars as well.

 

I just find snow fascinating, as how each snowflake is unique. How so many tiny creations can change a scenery into a Winter wonderland. How snow can muffle the sounds and make the surroundings a more quiet and peaceful place.

I remember walking through the woods during the winter times and breathing the crispy air, hearing the sound of the snow crunching under my shoes.

Then coming home with my cheeks all red, fingers and toes a little cold. Hanging my scarf and gloves over the radiator and making a nice warm cup of tea.

 

These are the items I found on Zibbet:  If you want to take a closer look at one, just click on the picture and it will take you to the right shop.


Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Vintage 1940 Crochet Bedspreads Book 151 by ecoQuilter

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Art — SNOW GIRL— Fine Art Giclee Print by MoxyFoxDesigns

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
First Fresh Snow Bath Bomb by Southern Comforts

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Snow Fall- White pearl and garnet earrings by laughingdogstudio

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Red CCM Tricycle in snow photo (8 x 10) by SandrasCardandCraftShop

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
First Snow Art Quilt
by Strandz

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Recycled Ski Firewood Rack / Log Holder by SkiCycled

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Back Road-Print
by Artworm

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Snow Falling At Night 5×5 TTV Print
by ebonypaws

 

And then I found some more snow items on Etsy:

snow

you can get a closer look if you go the the Etsy Treasury

 

Now I hope that I didn’t jinx myself by posting all those snow memories and items. I wouldn’t mind to get a bit of snow for the weekend. My kids love running around in the snow and build snowmen and slide down the hill.

Where ever you live, I hope you have a warm place to sit and  a warm cup of tea or coffee to warm up after enjoying some time outside.

 

sig

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Spotlight Friday: SNOW

  1. blnl

    I miss the New York snows as it meant a day off from school…yes, I loved them just like the kids!

    Like

Thanks for your comments!

