Spotlight Friday: beading

I learned a new technique this week with beads. I got a custom order for a mouse. She was going to be a mouse that works with beads. So I went to my customers shop to see what kind of work she does to get a better picture and an idea what I could have that little mouse do.

 

Isn’t that stunning?

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA
dressing screen

 

I had a general idea of bead weaving. I did some bead work on a loom a long time ago, but that wouldn’t work for my little mouse.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA
elephants on a walk

So I googled some bead weaving videos and got started. Believe me, I found a new respect for this work. I can’t remember how many times I poked myself in the finger with this needle. First I had to find a needle that was thin enough to go through the seed beads. My mice are not bigger than 4 inches, so the bead project had to be rather tiny.

be Not bigger than my fingertip. I had tried a different colored pattern, but I kept loosing track of which bead I had to thread through. So to make it simple I came up with this.

beading m

A happy little beading mouse.  I think I will leave this art to people like Max from http://www.kraftymax.net/

I love working with beads. But I will stick to knitting and macrame with beads.  Although adding beads to clothes dates back 4000 years.

King Tut had bead work in his tomb, including a pair of slippers he must have worn as a child and a hassock showing captive nations. (Tut didn’t capture any nations, but beadworkers flattered the Pharaoh as well as anyone.) Other early examples tend to be rare because the cloth or leather on which the beads were sewn disintegrate. There are several beaded items in the ShOsO-inTemple in Nara, Japan, dating to the 8th century A.D.

Bead work is recorded in India at an early date. There are 9th century B.C.references to braiding beads into hair and horse tails. Around 300 B.C. Buddhist monks were admonished not to wear beaded shoes. The first reference to bead weaving is from about 1300 A.D.:(http://www.thebeadsite.com/bbi-hist.htm)

Bead work in Europe has a history dating back a millennium to a time when shells and animal bones were used as beads in necklaces.

Glass beads were being made in Murano by the end of the 14th century. French beaded flowers were being made as early as the 16th century, and lampwork glass was invented in the 18th century. Seed beads began to be used for embroidery, crochet, and numerous off-loom techniques.

Bead work is a quintessentially Native American art form which evolved to mostly use glass beads imported from Europe and recently Asia. Glass beads have been in use for almost five centuries in the Americas. Today a wide range of beading styles flourish.

Alongside the widespread popularity of glass beads, bead artists continue incorporating natural items such as dyed porcupine quills, shell such as wampum, and dendrite, and even sea urchin spines in a similar manner as beads.

Wampum shell beads are ceremonially and politically important to a range of Eastern tribes,[6] and were used to depict several important treaties between the Native peoples and the colonists, as in the case of the Two Row Wampum Treaty.  (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Beadwork)

those are the pieces I picked from Zibbet:


Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Black/Pink Beaded Bracelet
by beadablethings

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Mikey the Box Turtle
by JustBelieveCreations

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Bead loomed pendant – Black cat in the window
by CatsWire

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Electric Blue And Green Turquoise Bead Weave Necklace.
by beaduniquejewelry

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Pink with Blue Beads Right Angle Weave Adult Bracelet
by KarenLynneBeads

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Spanish Lace Beadwoven Bracelet – Gold & Eggplant – 7-1/2″
by jenjohnson42

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Pit Bull Peyote Cuff PDF Pattern by 3PeepsDesigns

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Sweetheart Necklace by EmbroideringMyDreams

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Lilac Dangle Silver Earrings – Bead woven – Purple & Mauve by NoDittoDesign

 

I had to pry myself of the screen, there where so many pieces of Art done with beads. Too many to share, but what beautiful work. Take a look for yourself.

These are the ones I found on Etsy:

work-of-art-with-beads.png
Etsy Treasury 

Which one is your favorite piece?

sig

 

 

8 thoughts on “Spotlight Friday: beading

  1. kraftymax

    I can’t wait for my mouse to be here so that she can INSPIRE me!! I am amazed at her!! Thank you for showing off some of my creations! I am also flattered that you learned beadweaving just for her!! It is a labor of love…..and often my creations have a little bit of me (in the form of blood from a needle) in them!! 🙂 ha ha ha THANK YOU!! ~KM

    Like

  2. Lisa Davis

    Thanks a million for showing my beadwork earrings here on your very interesting post!
    Cute mouse!
    I’m a novice bead-weaver, I’ve yet to try a loom or anything more taxing than square stitch but my head – and graph paper – are full of design ideas, so I’ll get weaving!
    Lisa from No Ditto Design x

    Like

Thanks for your comments!

