Spotlight Friday: waking up from Winter

Yes, this year I am really ready for Spring. It was a weird and wet Winter. I am finally seeing a light at the end of the tunnel for my health. My energy levels are not hanging out in the fatigue section all the time anymore. I still have some days where I am really dragging my feet.

The other day I was trying to explain to my hubby how being fatigued really feels, because he keeps telling me “why don’t you just take a nap”. If it where that easy I would.

Fatigue is a nasty bugger that comes with ITP, if you have it  you are tired, depressed, have muscle aches, mood swings, dread the next platelet count, or are just plain scared.

My body is constant in overdrive  creating platelets and destroying them at the same time.

What is it like to have fatigue (it is really awful) and how can we explain fatigue to others who have never experienced it? (almost impossible)

Fatigue can vary from day to day or from morning to afternoon, from one hour to the next, even from one minute to the next.

Perhaps the best place to start is to tell people what it isn’t. Fatigue is not sleepy tiredness.  It won’t be sorted out by having a good night’s sleep or a nap in the afternoon.

This is how I tried to  explain it to my hubby  and hope he could  relate  to the feelings of fatigue to experiences that most people have had before. That way he could access his own memories and, hopefully, feel again the heaviness or disorientation or other unwelcome sensations so that he felt , rather than imagine it in a rather theoretical sort of way.

I asked him to remember the worst hangover he’d ever had. Think about what the circumstances were, exactly how he felt when he tried to get out of bed, how he staggered downstairs and how rough he felt for the rest of the day.  Relive the memory strongly for a moment and then file it for later.

Then  I asked him to think about the worst jet lag he’d ever had. How exhausted and disorientated he was.  Did you feel really tired but couldn’t sleep at the right time of day? Bring this experience strongly to mind and then store that memory for a moment.

Recall the worst flu you ever had. How awful you felt all over, how getting out of bed was a struggle or almost impossible, how every little thing made him feel worse.

The next was to get him to imagine what it might be like to have all three (a hangover, jet lag and flu) at the same time, to recall both the physical and the mental feelings. Horrendous! How bad would that be?

Now ramp it up and ask yourself to imagine that everything is ten times worse than you just imagined. It could be almost like going unconscious – a bit like fainting but without the woozy- sick sort of feeling. This is becoming unimaginable for anyone who has not been there but hopefully it makes the point about how bad fatigue can be. The frequently heard comment that “everyone gets tired sometimes” is way off the mark.. Sometimes hits me like a train from one second to the next. Did he get it? I guess not, but at least I tried.

But that is why I love this time of the year, SPRING. Everything renewing, coming out of their winter sleep. This year I finally have a little bit more energy and the desire to work in my yard and make it look nice again. The last two years I couldn’t even bother to think about taking the shovel in my hand.  I have to be careful to not overdo it and crash the next day.

Yesterday I planted some bulbs and can’t wait to see them peeking through the dirt. I love the smell of fresh dug up dirt. Pouring water on it and then patiently wait for the first little green to show. It makes me feel like I get a chance to renew myself again.

Here is what I found on Zibbet all those wonderful Spring items. If you’d like to see it a little closer, just click on the picture or the link below and it will take you to the shop.

 


Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet

Green tatted flower and leaf earrings by CristinaMyCrochet


Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet

pair of butterfly wing shadowboxes by colorstorydesigns


Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet

Spring – Rose mosaic tiles – garden planter by dkshopgirl


Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet

Spring Fresh! by Whimsy


Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet

Ladybug Bottlecap Pincushion
by CreativeMiscellany


Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet

Daffodil Flower Essence, Handmade with Love – 5 ml.
by walkinthewoodsllc


Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet

wide brimmed cream straw by AStepIntoThePast


Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet

Lemon-Lime Ring by DriftwoodDesigns


Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet

Hand painted women dress/Black embroidery by zayade

 

Now let’s go discover Spring on Etsy. I created a Treasury for you to enjoy.

waking-up-from-winter.png

My kids love that the sun is out more again and that they can enjoy the time outside, they do not like that there is more bugs and bees. I do have quite a few lavender bushes in my garden and they attract all these buzzing creatures. It is so nice to watch them feed and rest on the bushes.

What is your favorite part of Spring?

 

 

sig

8 thoughts on “Spotlight Friday: waking up from Winter

  1. blnl

    I hope this spring brings an added spring to your step but know you still should not over do it. It is such a beautiful time of year except for the pollen & bugs!

    Like

    1. Yes it is Barbra, and I really enjoy it. It is hard for me to pull the break though when I am on the roll 😉 But yes I have to watch to not over do it.

      Like

  2. Spring is making her way into my world, with seedlings started, early crop seed planted and some lovely, healing outdoor wanderings. I welcome the season!

    And I appreciate the kind Flower Essence feature too!

    Like

  3. Thank you for including my mosaic planter in your wonderful blog! Over here in Australia we’re just going into Autumn, so completely opposite 🙂

    Like

    1. you are very welcome! I remember those times that it was warm on Christmas times. I lived in Papua New Guinea for nearly 5 years and 1/2 year in Australia. Wonderful times!

      Like

Thanks for your comments!

