Spotlight Friday: Sisters

South Carolina is “aiming” for a record this week, the weather is trying to beat 8 days in a row over 100 F (nearly 38 C). This has a consequence. You spend a lot of time indoors, because it is just not bearable to stay outside too long.

It has been a fairly quiet week here in our house. We did not go anywhere for the 4th of July celebrations, because on of my kids came down with something last Friday. Over the weekend her fever hovered around 102 F. She slept a lot.

The fever finally broke Sunday afternoon but then she lost her voice. Not even a peep. She tried, but nothing but a very low whisper.

It has been fairly quiet in this house since then. No arguing, no bickering, no yelling….. sisters…. The younger one even made sure her older sister would stay hydrated, brought her ice cream to sooth her throat. Went into her room to check if she was covered.

It was good to see that after all they do care about each other. You wouldn’t think that if you would peek into our home when everyone is well. Typical sister rivalry going on.

sisters-love-quotes

The other day, my youngest said : ” I miss my sister, well her talking, it is so quiet in the house.” That made me smile.

She even made sure we brought another tub of coconut ice cream home, so her older sister would recover faster. Of course she made sure first that she could get some of her own ice cream as well.

So as you can see it was a rather quiet week for us. I enjoyed the relaxing times, the extra cuddles and no pressure to be anywhere or to taxi anybody around.

I don’t have that sister bond to either of my sisters, sadly. I am the oldest of 4 kids, three girls and one boy. My youngest sister is 37 years younger than I am. Living in Germany.(That would be a whole different story to tell.) We do occasionally skype or exchange letters.

And my other sister is 7 years younger. I didn’t get to spend the first 5 years of her life together with her, due to me being in boarding School in Papua New Guinea.I did see her a few times a year, but that was always brief and the age gap just didn’t help.

I was 12 when we met again. We where strangers and that kind of didn’t change  for the remaining time I lived at home.

I moved out when I was 18. I tried to rekindle the relationship with my sister in my mid twenties, but we never really clicked. It’s sad, but maybe one day it will change again. We do keep in contact, not regularly though.

I did see her when we went for a visit to Germany, but only a few words besides “hello” where spoken. There was just no connection.

So seeing how my two kids care about each other, warms my heart.

Here is my Sister collection from Etsy. If you want a closer look at some items you will have to click on the link and it will take you there.

sisters

 

A lot of interesting sister items that I found on Zibbet. Just click on the picture or the link under the picture and it will take you to the individual shop.


Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
To My Sister on My Wedding Day Gift Card – 1 Card with Envelope – Gift For My Sister
by SewCraftey

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Witchcraft primitive witch Black hat Sisterhood sign Primitives Witches Wiccan Pagan Halloween decoration coven wicca magic sister
by SleepyHollowPrims

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Boy’s Sister for Sale Bib
by Mally’s

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Daisy Molly’s Sister fabric doll wall hanging
by barbiesewandsew

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Big Sister Hair Clip Set
by NannyGoatsCloset

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Sister pillow, statement for a sister, cross stitch pillow, home decor, gift for a sister, decorative pillow, embellished pillow with wool by CreationbyDJ

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
End of the Day Digital Collage Greeting Card
by Cards by Colette

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
The Two Sisters Standing Stones – Gothic Windowscape Vinyl Wall Decal
by WilsonGraphics

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Hand stamped necklace, gift for sister , a couple of nuts off the family tree stainless steel gift for her
by cmkreations

 

I also did a search for Sisters on Artyah and this is what I found. I think quite stunning pieces.

 


Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Colorful running horse fine art print by Nancy Quiaoit at Nancyqart by NancyQart

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Twin lambs with Ewe Farm Animal Photography Blank Note Card by TheOldBarnDoor

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Big Sister Middle Sister Little Sister Infinity Necklaces Jewelry Gift by AccentCreations

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Baby Girl Lil sister Bodysuit & Shoes, Embroidered Baby shower Gift , #7 by Barb

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
32 Peg Dolls – DIY Chess Set – Game Pieces – Unfinished Wooden Peg Dolls by WooWeeble

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Custom pet portrait cushion / pillow / cover by RagstoStitchesDesign

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Cute rainbow robot earrings, fun gift for girl, geeky jewelry by oceanalien

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Sparrows, male and female sparrow birds family by Lola

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
IN STOCK and ready to ship – Handmade Wooden Jigsaw Puzzle – Migrating Elephants by gainespuzzles

 

I will keep trying to reach out to my sisters and see where it will take me. At the same time I hope my girls never loose their bond.

 

I wish you a wonderful weekend!

sig

4 thoughts on “Spotlight Friday: Sisters

  1. I never had a sister. I grew up with a brother who is six years older than me. The age gap, like you mentioned, has always kept us from being close.

    I am adopted and I always knew that I had 8 brothers and sisters somewhere out there. In 2012, Maine passed a law where you could order your “original” birth certificate, so I did. I was able to find an obituary for my biological father and my mother apparently was still alive. I knew my last name was Cole and wrote about what I had learned on my Facebook page. That lead to a local doctor, who had a patient with the last name of Cole, he told her my story and I learned a bit more from her.

    Anyway, fast forward to a year ago, I was reading a post from the local town back in Maine where I grew up and one of the posts was from somebody named Cole. I shot him a message, asked him if he knew this name and come to find out, his grandmother was my biological mother! I was then told about some of my brothers and sisters, actually talked to one brother over the phone and found out I have a half sister and two other sisters. I have talked on the phone to my half sister, who is also on FB as is my half brother. I have no ties to this family as I was brought up by who I consider “my parents”. I have no real desire to meet these people either, but am curious about medical and family history stuff. (Comes with getting older…LOL)

    I guess what I am trying to say is I do “actually have” a sister, but have never met her.

    Love your story and hopefully one day you and your sisters will touch base again and become closer.

    Like

  2. Fascinating stories – both yours and Bethie’s. You have also compiled a beautiful collection of ‘sister’ items and I am very flattered to have been included. Thank you. I look forward to reading more of your blog 🙂

    Like

Thanks for your comments!

