Spotlight Friday: piercing

The other day we finally made out trip to North Carolina. It had been in the planning for a long time. For ages if you ask my oldest. She was one of the reasons we made the trip. For quite some time she had asked me if she could get a nose piercing. When we had talked about it we agreed that she needed to be at least 15 and pay for it from her earned money and be done with her NJROTC, because they do not allow you to wear any jewelry with your uniform.

Well after we had that agreement I had looked up what regulations are for nose piercing here in South Carolina. After finding all the information, I was thinking, maybe I should of done this first!?

The first link I had found was this one  http://www.ncsl.org/research/health/tattooing-and-body-piercing.aspx  where it said

South Carolina S.C. Code § 44-34-10 to 44-34-110 Tattooing. Prohibits tattooing anyone under the age of 21.  If a person is at least 18, they may get a tattoo with parental consent.
S.C. Code § 44-32-10 to 44-32-120 Body Piercing Facility. Prohibits anyone from performing body piercing on an individual under age 18.

Well, maybe I should of checked with the laws first.  It didn’t even cross my mind to be honest. I had mine done 20+ years ago in a jewelry shop with the “gun” they use to pierce ears.  I did find out though that this is not done in the US anymore. You will have to go to a tattoo shop to get your nose pierced. Oh boy, a total new can of worms that I just opened up.

I did find some shops, that looked good to me but they all disclaimed that here in SC you have to have parents and Doctors consent to get a nose piercing and at least 16 years old. When she had her yearly physical to get the sports physical we asked the Doc. Of course she said no.

Ear piercing and nose piercing have been particularly widespread and are well represented in historical records and among grave goods. The oldest mummified remains ever discovered were sporting earrings, attesting to the existence of the practice more than 5,000 years ago. Nose piercing is documented as far back as 1500 BC. Piercings of these types have been documented globally, while lip and tongue piercings were historically found in African and American tribal cultures. Nipple and genital piercing have also been practiced by various cultures, with nipple piercing dating back at least to Ancient Rome while genital piercing is described in Ancient India c. 320 to 550 CE. The history of navel piercing is less clear. The practice of body piercing has waxed and waned in Western culture, but it has experienced an increase of popularity since World War II, with sites other than the ears gaining subcultural popularity in the 1970s and spreading to mainstream in the 1990s.

The reasons for piercing or not piercing are varied. Some people pierce for religious or spiritual reasons, while others pierce for self-expression, for aesthetic value, for sexual pleasure, to conform to their culture or to rebel against it. Some forms of piercing remain controversial, particularly when applied to youth.

You can find into depth information about all the piercings and their history 

When I searched our neighboring States I found out that they had different regulations. We live pretty much in the middle of South Carolina, so it was either direction not more than 1.5 hours.  Plus going up North would mean we could stop in at IKEA which we love to go to, but don’t get to go very often.

So we found a Tattoo/ Piercing shop that had very good reviews and I kept my fingers crossed that it was all true.  And it was, the store was very clean, the staff was very friendly and explained everything into detail. Everything was sterile and the piercing artist really made my kid feel comfortable and walked her through every step. She is told to come back in 4 weeks for a check up. I don’t remember me having that when I had mine pierced.

I never had anything against my daughter piercing her nose. How can I say no, when I have a pierced nose  myself. We did talk about the aesthetics and how much would be too much, and what it would mean when wanting to work in certain fields. We agreed on that this is the only one I will allow, besides ear piercing, as long as she lives in our house.

So now you know a little bit more about body piercing and it’s history.

Wow, Etsy was full of jewelry for piercing. So I narrowed it down to nose piercing. (Click on it and it will take you to the Treasury on Etsy) Or do your own search for piercing jewelry.

nose-piercing

It was a little tougher on Zibbet to find just nose piercings. So I added other piercing jewelry into the mix. Just click on the picture if you would like to take a closer look.


Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
A 2mm Tiny Amethyst in Sterling Silver Nose Stud by GazitJewelry

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Cartilage ear cuff “Gold Tender LOVE” – no piercing-fake piercing ear wires- wire writing
by KOZLOVA

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Beautiful Brass Flower Earrings – Tribal Jewelry by ronyibiza

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Ear Cuff Sterling Silver Pearl Pink Freshwater
by stonehorsedesigns

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Modern sterling Silver Dangle Earrings for Pierced ears,
by Menno

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Gold Belly Ring Bellybutton Jewelry Body Jewelry
by stonehorsedesigns

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Elf Ears – Enchanted Night, elven ears, elf ear cuff, elf ear wrap, elf cosplay jewelry
by SilverElfJewelry

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Horn And Shell Plug – Piercing Plugs – Tribal Plugs – Unique Plugs – Artistic Plugs
by ronyibiza

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
18g little vine hoops– primitive series– handmade by thebeadedlily
by thebeadedlily

These are the ear piercing jewelry that I have found on ArtYah, I think some beautiful pieces.


Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Hand carved White Jade calla lily bead earrings . 925 sterling silver earwires by BethShanIreland

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Cat on Lime Green Wooden Dangle Earrings
by wowwy

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Mini Tea Cup Earrings
by HagAndNagAntiques

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Dandelion Sterling Silver Hand Stamped Handmade Earrings – Dangle Earrings
by silvermustangs

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Feather and Beetle-wing boho earrings on birdy earwires
by BethShanIreland

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Beaded colorful hoop earrings, geometric earrings modern art earrings
by lutita

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Tribal Feather Earrings, Long Dangle Gemstone Earrings, Aztec Bohemian Jewelry
by morethanprettythings

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Large Textured Copper Earrings with Turquoise
by SilverandEarth

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Sterling silver teardrop stud earrings Understated jewelry Minimalist earrings
by Freesize

Do you have any body parts pierced? Which ones?

I did have 3 holes pierced into my earlobes on both sides. I did wear earrings in all of them for the longest. But the last few years, I hardly even wear any earrings. Don’t know why. But after seeing all those wonderful creations I might just have to change my mind.

 

Here is a link from another blogger, going a little bit more into detail about body piercings if you would like to read more about it.

sig

16 thoughts on “Spotlight Friday: piercing

  1. 3 piercings on one ear, 4 on the other, one being the cartilage on the top of the ear. I wear 9 earrings, all the time. (yes that is two in one hole on each ear, the hoops are thin gold to I can fit a post in there too). No nose piercings, or any other areas, for me. I am happy with what I have.

    Like

  2. Interesting reading! How’s you daughter getting on with – still likes it? I’ve got 2 piercings in one earlobe, 3 in the other and a 4th cartilage piercing at the top of that ear, so 6 in total. First pair was when I was 9. Then one when I was 15 … not approved of by my parents (but what were they going to do after the fact). The next pair was my “I got through a crap year including back surgery” treat. And the final one, in the cartilage, was my “I got through my 2nd back surgery” treat. Yeah, I’m weird. Just ordered a bunch of labret studs (ie. flat back), titanium different colours so I can mix & match all 6. I put them in and then don’t change for months! I get coldsores in my nose so couldn’t have one there, and don’t like anything round my tummy so navel piercing a no-go. Wouldn’t consider anywhere else, lol.

    Like

    1. thank you. My daughter still loves it and is happy she was able to finally get it. Oh wow, so many back surgeries, no wonder you needed a treat. Hope you are doing better now. I was just online window shopping the other day for nose piercing jewelry for myself. Found quite a few interesting pieces. And with my earrings I just have to get into the habit again of putting them in. Did the cartilage piercing hurt?

      Like

      1. I’m glad she still loves it!
        Yep, I definintely needed a treat! I’m still hankering after a 2nd tattoo, sort of a “badge of courage” for the last 10 years, but still deciding what/where. (The one I have is a little bird of paradise. 🙂 )
        Yes the cartilage piecing hurt more than I expected to. And it wouldn’t heal for ages. But once all healed – love it!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. wow, ouch just thinking about it… I understand the “badge” thing. I have been pondering about getting one for battling ITP ( blood clotting disorder) for 15+ years. Didn’t make any decision yet 😉

        Like

  3. Patricia

    Very interesting article. You have a lovely blog! Thank you so much for featuring a pair of my earrings!

    Like

  4. I had no idea body piercing could be so complicated! Frauke… you are completing my education with all your well researched blogs. I’m never too old to learn. Your subject matter is always a surprise and I look forward wondering what you’ll come up with next. Well done :>)
    Hugs, Faye
    PEIsocks at Artyah.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Faye, that made me smile. I learn something new every week as well. I try keeping my blog personal about stuff that happens around here. This week I will not get the time to share anything though.We have family coming over the big pond, we are way to excited to sit down and write. I will be spending every minute with them. I wish you an amazing week!

      Like

Thanks for your comments!

