Spotlight Friday : Music in my heart

I hope you didn’t miss me too much last Friday. We had my Cousin and her family here for a short week from Germany. We hadn’t seen each other in about 5 years, so I decided not to get on the internet. We enjoyed every minute.

On Monday it was time for back to School!  Two weeks before that I took advantage of registering my kids online, so the registration day at school would go faster. I had asked my little one if she would be interested in anything else like sports or music etc.

“na, I’m good I am already doing school TV” ( She has to be in school in the mornings before 7:15 am)  Ok,  I thought, we will just wait and see if anything comes along that will strike her fancy further down the road.

Wednesday she came home with a bunch of papers for me to fill out and said: “Mama, I would like to learn how to play the Violin or Viola. Can you fill out this paper?”

It said to go online and register, so I did.

I was not quite sure what a Viola was, I knew a Violin and a Cello, but don’t remember ever hearing anything about a Viola.  Well, off I go to google…

VIOLA: an instrument of the violin family, larger than the violin and tuned a fifth lower.

I think he explains it quite nicely.

We still have to wait for a little time until she will start. I am excited for her. She did learn the obligatory recorder in school last year and she loved it.

When I was younger I learned to play the recorder as well, then later changed over to a Tenor flute. Loved the deep sound this made.

types_flute

It was a little tall for me in the beginning. I still have the flute, but have not played it in a very long time.

Maybe it is time to pull it out again and start practicing.  In my teenage years I also taught myself how to play the guitar. It was a little hard to be self taught but it was enough for just me. I did sell my guitar before we move to the US. Why? I don’t know.

I do still want to learn how to play the piano. Right now we do not have enough room for one, even just a keyboard. But maybe one day.

I grew up listening to classic music and I still love listening to it today, well actually any kind of music that makes me feel good.

So from September on we will have someone practicing a string instrument, I hope she will not get discouraged from the learning curve in the beginning. I remember from boarding school, one of my room mates learned how to play the violin. And it was quite a torture for our ears in the first few weeks. She did get better and I enjoyed listening to her practice hours.

Maybe my little one and I could team up and practice together, because I am quite rusty at playing my Tenor flute.

This is my Music collection from ArtYah, click on the photo and it will take you to the corresponding shop.


Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Vintage The Music Man Vocals and Piano Book 32 Pages Musical
by cookiecuttercat

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Music Lovers Personalized Photo Pendant Necklace or Key chain Piano Jewelry
by HandmadeInChico

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Tape Measure Music Love Retractable Measuring Tape
by AllAboutTheButtons

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Music Note Coffee Mug Rug | Raw Edge Applique Patchwork Mug Rug | Snack Mat |
by jen113

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
White Hair Bow with Musical Notes Music Notes Hair Bow 4.5″ x 3.5″ Handmde New
by Maria32

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Renoir Copper Clip Earrings Three Notes Musical 1950s Vintage Jewelry
by VintageJewelryStore

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Peace, Love and Music Mini Cross Stitch KIT
by theartofstitch

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Vintage Sheet Music Lot Yankee Doodle Dandy Robert E lee Annie Get Your Gun
by cookiecuttercat

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Still Life of Violin and Music Cross Stitch KIT
by theartofstitch

 

What is your favorite music you listen to?  For me it really depends on the mood. It can go from Heavy Metal to Instrumental or Folklore all in one day, I do love listening to my R&B from the early 90’s though. Drives my little one nuts.

music-in-my-heart

this collection makes me want to turn my music up and dance. Find it right here, this link will take you to the Etsy treasury so you can take a closer look.

Also I found quite a collection on Zibbet, that I would like to share with you.


Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Fabric Buttons, Covered Buttons, Muscial Buttons, Vintage Buttons, Music Buttons, Brown Buttons, Piano Buttons, Muscial Note, 0.8 Inch Buttons 5’s
by Retronana

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Music Treble Clef Tree Cross Stitch Pattern***L@@K***
by LONE WOLF CROSS-STITCH PATTERNS LOOK

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Metro Music I (A Portrait of a Subway Musician)
by Egilpatr

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Music Box by JustBelieveCreations

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Mini Music Note Cookies (Four Dozen)
by CakeItToTheLimit

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Silver wire crochet musical clef pendant with pearl
by CatsWire

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Handmade Pottery Turtle Rattle / Shaker / Instrument – Native American Inspired – Wall decoration
by IntheShadeoftheSycamoreTree

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Little Purple Flutist Owl Print
by MoreThanZeroArt

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Antique Phonograph Blank Card
by Hollenmark Card Design

You see something you like, just click on the picture and you will be able to take a closer look.

Now I would like to wish you a wonderful day filled with wonderful music! 

12 thoughts on “Spotlight Friday : Music in my heart

  1. I used to play the violin when I was a kid and still have mine, but I have been out of practice for much too long. Good luck for your girl, I hope she’ll have fun 🙂

    Thank you for including my pendant in your collection, too!

    Like

  2. I played the flute and piccolo, my husband played the horn, my daughter played the violin and my son plays the PS4 😉 Playing an instrument is a great opportunity and opens many new doors! I hope your daughter enjoys it!
    Thank you for you including my mug rug in your lovely collection! 🙂

    Like

  3. Cora O'Dell

    Thank you so much for featuring my owl! I played viola in school and my boyfriend is an excellent guitar teacher. I made my owls for a friend who is an amazing flutist and teacher Molly Shortridge.

    Like

Thanks for your comments!

