Spotlight Friday: what is in the cards?

My personal life is quite a whirl wind lately. I am getting pulled in so many different directions. And often I don’t know what to do , so I get stagnant. Nothing I really like doing. But I have to be careful of not overdoing it to not put too much stress on my health and end up in  that bad place again.

I am a very intuitive person. Often my decision base more on feelings than facts.  Intuitive means having the ability to understand or know something without any direct evidence or reasoning process.

So it happened  that a few days ago I was given the chance to get a free card reading.

tarot-card-1

To many this might sound weird. But I do believe in that your body and mind send out waves or have different auras, for others to pick up in what kind of state of mind or what mood you are in at the moment.  How this works online without having the person sitting right in front of you, is still a riddle to me.

I have never had a person on person reading. I might have to take that step and find out how this would be. What am I so nervous about?

So when I got the message over FB that I could get a reading, I was really excited. Joella Notte – Art Sould Studio is her page if you’d like to look her up.

It was going to be a Tarot reading.

“The earliest known tarot decks weren’t designed with mysticism in mind; they were actually meant for playing a game similar to modern-day bridge.” By the mid-18th century, the mystical applications for cards had spread from Italy to other parts of Europe.

Etteilla was the first to issue a revised tarot deck specifically designed for occult purposes rather than game playing. In keeping with the belief that tarot cards are derived from the Book of Thoth, Etteilla’s tarot contained themes related to ancient Egypt.

The variety of decks in use is almost endless, and grows yearly. And there is no standard number of cards across all decks.The types of cards, the suits and their meanings are the same, the illustrations vary greatly.

In most people’s minds, “Tarot card reading” means a woman in flowing robes, leaning over a small table in a dark candlelit room, foretelling what bad things will come.

That is not really what Tarot cards are about, they are not even really meant to tell your fortune or future.

So Joella asked me to send her one question I had, that I wanted answered.

Once the cards are shuffled and the deck has been cut, the reader lays out the cards in a pattern called the spread.

This is how my spread looked like. spread

Each position in the spread has a meaning, and there are many different types of spreads.Once the cards are laid out, their meanings are interpreted based on their positions and their neighboring cards.

To learn the art of Tarot-card reading, you can read books, take courses and even become certified. Courses are taught online and in classes through Tarot organizations and through independent Tarot teachers.

My reading was spot on. She tuned right into what emotional turmoil is raging in me at the moment.

The reading pointed out what I deep down already knew what I need to do to change some things. But for some reason I couldn’t let go. It gave me reassurance that I am  on the right track. I just need to trust in myself and go for it.

How can randomly drawn cards have any relevance to someone’s life and what’s happening in it?

The cards don’t tell you what you should do or what specifically is going to happen in your future, but rather the possibilities depending on the path you take.

For me it was more of a little nudge to get off my  butt and do what I know I have to do.

My take on reading cards has nothing to do with occult, bad voodoo or  anything like that. I think people who do readings have this gift to pick up on peoples energies and vibes. They read you and then can tell what is going on and help you to understand yourself better. Help you to make that decision  that you already deep down know, but for some reason ignore.

what-is-in-the-cards

What is in the cards?  I titled this whole Spotlight for today, as well as the treasuries that I put together. The first one is from Etsy, just click on the link and you can take a closer look at the items.

This second treasury is a mixture of Zibbet and Artyah items. Just click on the picture and it will take you to the particular shop.


Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Tarot Card The Empress Altered Art Earrings
by Threecats

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
The Chariot (Le Chariot), Framed Tarot Card Assemblage
by Pandorasbox

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
CAT TAROT Altered Art Charm Bracelet by artjewelryforyou

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Dragonfly Reversible Spread Cloth Embroidered, Tarot Cloth, Rune Casting Cloth
by SeleneMoonGoddess

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Gypsy Fortune Teller Wine & Drink Glass Charms Set of 6 Ouija Board, Fortune Game, More
by Threecats

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Psychic Tarot Reading- Full Ten Cards Spread
by Serena

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Badgers Print
by catbirdcraft

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Crystal Ball Psychic Reading / Scrying
by Serena

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Witches Signs Cats Tarot Card readings halloween decorations party Astrology Witches Plaques Primitives Vintage Gypsies primitive black cat
by SleepyHollowPrims

 

I would love to hear your take on reading cards. Did you ever have cards read to you? Do you think it’s all humbug?

I want to wish you a wonderful and successful day!

servus, Frauke

10 thoughts on “Spotlight Friday: what is in the cards?

  1. Great article! I have been an intuitive Tarot reader for over 20 years and am still amazed at how much information you can receive from just 10 cards (and listening to the words that come to you). Everyone has intuition. How one chooses to acknowledge it or not is what opens or doesn’t open that channel.

    I especially want to thank you for including my dragonfly tarot cloth in you article.~Sharon~

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great article! Thanks so much for including our small beaded clutch. I have a friend that made her own deck of cards and she gave them to me. She is an artist and did all the painting on them herself. I haven’t had a reading . I think anything is possible and have seen that you can learn from these different forms of spiritual energy. How it all works is a mystery and I am Grateful for the mystery in things. Makes my life interesting. Thanks again Frauke.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am not much on Tarot cards, but for sevreral years I read the “I Ching”. What I loved about it was the prolific amount of new ideas that it brought to mind. These were ideas I would never have thought of before. Just might have to get that book out and take another look at it. Thanks Frauke for another super Friday post. Cheers my friend.

    Like

  4. GlowingHeartStudios

    I really enjoyed this article, and great shops! 🙂 it is all a “great mystery” I have never had cards or a reading either, but there the intuition is everywhere when we walk with our hearts and eyes open ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Joella

    Thank you Frauke! I really enjoyed doing your reading and hope to work with you again in the future 🙂 I’ve shared your blog with my Facebook fans! Have a great day!!!!! Love and Light, Joella

    Like

Thanks for your comments!

