Spotlight Friday: Motorcycle and mice.

We are invited to a birthday party in about 2 weeks, some German friends from us. They are only here until retirement and then will go back. In their free time the enjoy riding through the country sides on their motorcycle.

So it wasn’t really hard for me to figure out what I could make as a present.

Can you guess?

Yes, a mouse couple riding a motorcycle.

So I went online to see if there would be any motorcycle in the right size for my mice. It took  me a few hours to find the right one. The other day I went to see if the store where I found it at had one on hand. Sadly they where sold out, but I was promised that it should be in in a few days. In the mean time I am getting the mouse couple ready.

 

In Germany the bikers wear a full leather outfit. Leather pants, jacket , gloves and a helmet.

motorradbekleidung All out of security reasons.  You don’t have any metal around you if you happen to end up on the street.The so called crunch zone.  So the leather is a little bit of protection.

When I see bike riders driver around here in the USA, at least here in South Carolina,  on their bikes I don’t understand why they wouldn’t want to protect themselves a little. Often they are on their motorcycles with short pants, no helmet, just a tank top and I have even seen them riding in flip flops.

Since 2014 you have to have all these items if you are on a bike in Germany :

  • passendem Motorradhelm,   /  fitted helmed
  • Motorradhandschuhen,          /   gloves
  • eng anliegender Motorradjacke, / tight fitting motorcycle jacket
  • Rückenprotektor, falls nicht in Motorradjacke integriert,  /  back protection if it’s not integrated in the jacked
  • Motorradhose,   / motorcycle pants
  • Motorradstiefeln mit ausreichendem Knöchelschutz / motorcycle boots with enough ankle protection

Since 1976 there is a helmet obligation for anything that moves with a motor on two wheels over 20 km/h = 12.43 mph, in Germany.

 Even though there was clearly proof that helmets saved lives, and it was emphasized to wear them there was no law passed anywhere in the world to make it mandatory before 1961. People didn’t wear them because they thought they looked uncool.  Australia did introduce a helmet mandatory law in 1961.
In 1966 the US introduced the Highway safety act. The Act required the Secretary of Transportation to set uniform standards for state highway safety programs. One of these standards, issued in 1967, dealt with motorcycle safety. It included the requirement that states adopt universal helmet use laws — laws that mandate helmet use by all motorcycle riders. States that failed to comply would lose a portion of their federal-aid highway construction funds.
By 1975, 47 States had introduced this helmet law.  But after this law was revoked, more than half removed the mandatory law.
Over the last years the use of helmets has declined.  Sadly the deaths have increased.
I got my mice ready and tried to figure out how I could make a tight fitting “leather” pants. It was quite tight in some places…..  I ran out of needles….needl
but I think they turned out quite good. Oh just noticed, one mouse still needs whiskers. I guess I got to wrapped up in the pants.
bikers
My next knitting task will be figuring out how to make a “leather” jacket for the couple.
In the mean time I am also working on the helmets.
This is what I have so far       helm
It will take a few days until I can start cutting it into shape. The glue water mixture will have to fully dry first.
 This is my motorcycle collection that I put together from Artyah and Zibbet shops. Click on the picture and it will take you to the corresponding shops.

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Paper Motorcycle Die Cut Set of 12
by TheHoppeShoppe

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Dirt Bike Word Art, Personalized Child Art, Gift for Boy
by bymyword

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Motorcycle Puzzle – Motorbike – for Shelf or Tabletop – Home Decor – Transportation Decor
by WoodNCreations

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Harley Motorcycle Lover Sign ‘ Ride It Like You Stole It ‘ – Primitive, Folk Art, Country
by AndTheSignSays

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
AVANT GARDE Cropped Leather Motorcycle Biker Chic Jacket xs s
by thecatmeows

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Black leather motorcycle tool bag / small saddle bag
by RobertiCustoms

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Cece Rider Motorcycle Rocker
by customwoodshack

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Knitting Cloth Pattern – MOTORCYCLE – PDF
by ezcareknits

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Rustic Motorcycle Racer Steel Heart Ornament
by becreations

 

and here is my motorcycle treasury from Etsy

motorcycles

 

I hope I will get my mice motorcycle this week so I can show you the finished product of my biking mouse couple.

 

Have a wonderful day!

 

 

8 thoughts on “Spotlight Friday: Motorcycle and mice.

  1. A great blog. You did a fine job on your motorcycle mice and I think you are so brave to even begin such a complicated project. I’d call your mice process “Fibre Sculpture” for I believe it is a very complicated new art form that you have developed. Your friends will love your darling mice.
    Faye

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Faye, I went to the store to get my motorcycle and of course it was gone. I guess I jinxed myself. Now I got a rain check and have to go back next week. Oh well, working on their jackets and helmet today 🙂

      Like

Thanks for your comments!

