Spotlight Friday: Post office

Well, this week we had a half a day at School. That meant we could finally get the passports done for our kids. We had to take the trip to down town Post Office, because they where open until 4 and had walk ins, meaning we didn’t need to make an appointment. So after I had filled out all the paperwork I was sitting there watching all the people coming in to mail their packages and letters. How much it changed since the internet, I was thinking.

I remember when I lived in boarding school, every Sunday we where supposed to write letters to our family. I still have a few of those, ones that I had written to my Grandparents in Germany.They where not very long, usually just talking about the weather in a very scraggly cursive hand writing.Not that it is any better now.

During my teenage years I used to write to my friends that lived further away, pages over pages about what is going on, how I was mad at my parents and all that important teenager stuff. My envelopes where either created out of old calendar pages or posters or sometimes just a page out of a catalog. And usually had a ton of stickers on them.

Nowadays I hardly ever sit down anymore to write. Sadly. I do get the urge to write a letter here and there but not as often as I want it to be. I enjoy receiving letters, so I should put in more effort to return the favor.

I had to interrupt here because I felt guilty for not sending any sign of life to one of my friends for a while. So I went off to drop a few lines.

A post office is a customer service facility forming part of a national postal system. Post offices offer mail-related services such as acceptance of letters and parcels; provision of post office boxes; and sale of postage stamps, packaging, and stationery. In addition, many post offices offer additional services: providing and accepting government forms (such as passport applications), processing government services and fees (such as road tax), and banking services (such as savings accounts and money orders). The chief administrator of a post office is a postmaster.

The term “post office” or “post-office” has been in use since the 1650’s, shortly after the legalization of private mail service in England in 1635. In early Modern England, post ridersmounted couriers – were placed (“posted”) every few hours along post roads at “posting houses” or “post houses” between major cities (“post towns“). These stables or inns permitted important correspondence to travel without delay. In early America, post offices were also known as “stations“. This term and “post house” fell from use as horse and coach service was replaced by railways, aircraft, and automobiles.

Today, “post office” usually refers to postal facilities providing customer service. The term “General Post Office” is sometimes used for the national headquarters of a postal service, even if it does not provide customer service within the building. A postal facility used exclusively for processing mail is instead known as sorting office or delivery office, which may have a large central area known as a “sorting” or “postal hall”. Integrated facilities combining mail processing with railway stations or airports are known as mail exchanges.

This is a picture of a mail sorting place in Germany, I am pretty sure they look very similar all over the world.73775888-p-590_450

Amazing how most of the mail makes it to its intended destination.

Today mail gets to it’s final point pretty quick. Sometimes it puzzles me how it got there that fast.

While in boarding school I remember using air mail paper and envelopes. They where really thin paper, so they wouldn’t weigh as much. I really liked the red and white pattern around the envelope.

Sometimes I would have one of those pages that you write on and then when you where done you would fold them up into a envelope. The recipient had to be very careful opening those letters, so it wouldn’t rip into pieces.  They where called aerogramme, a sheet of lightweight paper, bearing an official postal stamp imprint,that is folded to form its own envelope and can be sent via airmail at special, low rate because of its standard size, light weight, and lack of enclosures.

It looked something like this, I guess every country has it’s own designs.

424px-aerogramme_unfolded2c_outer_view

This paper is as thin as tissue paper. (see all the info here https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Aerogramme_unfolded,_outer_view.jpg)

Yes, I could drop my letters in my mailbox, put the flag up and then have our mail lady bring it to the post office.

mailbox

(If the red flag on your mailbox is up, the carrier should pick up the mail, according to Valerie Welsch, public affairs and communications spokeswoman for the U.S. Postal Service’s Gateway District in St. Louis. If the flag is not up, the carrier is not required to check every box for outgoing mail.May 22, 2014)

I still prefer to bring my mail to our Post Office. Like that I know it will go out the intended date (sometimes the mail car gets here really late, like after dark late) and like that I get to see the people that work there,if they have a minute to chitchat. They know that my packages are usually all ready, all I want is the print out for proof. Sometimes I get a comment about that my customs form is not readable, and that I should take writing lessons or any joke along those lines. We chitchat about their new grand babies and so on. It feels good to get some human interaction, in this world that seams to get more unpersonal every day.

 

This is the Etsy Treasury that I put together with some Postal items: post-office

I learned the other day that Etsy made this decision :On October 5, we will be removing links to the Treasuries page from buyer access points, including the homepage, Favorites page and user profile. Existing Treasuries will still be accessible, and we do not have current plans to remove these from the site. External links to Treasury pages will continue to function, and buyers can still purchase available items from these Treasuries.

I don’t quite know yet how I will do my  Spotlights from now on, but I am sure I will figure out something.  I guess it’s time for a overhaul, a change.

 


Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Funny Post Office sign by AndTheSignSays

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
1929 USPS Pitcairn Aviation Mailwing Mail Plane Biplane NY to Atlanta
by 4wheeldreams

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Superior Nebraska Vintage Town View Postcard Post Office
by SandyCreekCollectables

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Wall Hanging Mail Holder in Straw
Cottage Chic Wood Wall Letter Holder Hand Painted Straw

by OlliesFineThings


Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Vintage PSX Rubber Stamp Christmas Mailbox C522 by beckeandbailey

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Post Office New York Antique Postcard UDB cancelled 1906 by TheOldBarnDoor

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Snail Mail Hand Carved Stamp
by SweetSpotStampShop

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Flourish Mailbox Vinyl Decal
by CountryCraftsandVinyl

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Art Mail
by HollyLance

just click on the picture and it will take you to the Zibbet or Artyah shop listing.

 

I am planning on writing some letters this weekend, long overdue. And then hopefully I will get some letters in return.

Got to keep our Post Office busy.

I wish you a wonderful Friday and a relaxing weekend.

 

7 thoughts on “Spotlight Friday: Post office

  1. So many of us have a love hate relationship with our post office. This post brought back great memories of sending letters and postcards to friends and family during summer travels, or a letter to my Granddad to let him know my latest adventures. Living in the country now I have always found the post office a warm and wonderful spot for conversation, getting the latest news and leaving with a feeling of assurance that my treasure (letter or parcel) will arrive at its destination.
    Gosh, this reminds me to do some research on Post Office banks that existed in Canada many years ago. Thanks for the interesting post

    Like

Thanks for your comments!

