Spotlight Friday: pineapple

I write my posts during the week, so they can post early Friday morning. Usually I sit down on a Thursday after dropping kids off in School and after making my breakfast and put a load of laundry in the machine. This week I was hoping to spend Thursday morning/ lunch time with a friend, so I will have to move my writing to a different day. But after this unexpected half week off ( due to Hurricane Matthew ) I am off my game. Plus my ITP decided to show it’s face again. I am so fatigued today that I can’t even get off my couch, my brain slightly foggy. Pondering all morning on what I could write about. I have an idea, than poke at it for a little while and then disregard…..hm…not interesting enough…. yeah, no… can’t find enough research material on it….. Still have not decided what to do about Etsy canceling it’s treasuries.

After finishing my Santa wreath, I kind of hit a crafters hole as well. Not enough creative juices flowing. So I just keep knitting away on my Stethoscope cozies.  Some with just one button as closure (picture on the left) and some with the two little legs that snap around the Stethoscope tubing ( picture on the right). I have to reinforce the snaps with felt, so they hold up longer. Knit doesn’t like to be poked and tends to slip. In order to get those snaps in I have to pull out my trusted hammer.

But that is just endless knitting in the round, without massive thinking, it’s just automatic knitting. Which is good while watching TV.

I guess my body tried to give me a warning sign about this massive energy plummet before hand by pulling my creative juice and I didn’t realize it….

I already did a post about knitting and how long mankind has been knitting etc. so I didn’t want to bore you with it again.  There are a lot of talented people that can work quite a magic with some thread and needles.

And then all of a sudden, while I was raking my brain…. I was like “oh my gosh, I totally forgot my pineapple plant.”

We love eating fresh pineapples and this summer I decided to try to plant one from the store bought pineapple that I had gotten.  I did not research on how to do it the best way, I didn’t find a quite minute that day. So all I did was cut the top off like I always did and  jut put the “disc” with  all the leaves still attached into a flower pot. And wow this plant took off. The first few days I watered it, because it was sitting right next to my rain barrel, but over time it got less and less water. It still thrived.  After the Hurricane I decided it needed a bigger pot. I knew I had to take it inside over the winter, because we do get frost quite a bit even though we live in South Carolina, and pineapples don’t like frost.

I don’t know what I was thinking when I put my plant in to this big pot. We live in a small house and every inch of this house is taken. Plus I only have two windows that are facing south and getting good sun exposure. And they are in my bedroom. I made it work. But if I want to plant more, so there will be a bit more pineapples to eat in 2 – 3 years, then I need a better solution. For right now we will see what this plant does and go from there.

If you have ever visited the South you might have noticed that pineapples get displayed in all kind of variations.  At the front entrance you can either see a flower arrangement with pineapples, on doormats or doorknobs.  When we first moved here I had no clue what it meant but I noticed a lot of pineapples everywhere, even some out of concrete on top of a fence post.

Throughout the Southeastern seaboard the pineapple expresses the “welcome”  to ones home. The fruit symbolizes those intangible assets we appreciate in a home: warmth, welcome, friendship and hospitality.

There are several histories recorded regarding the pineapple as a symbol of status, the most popular being that of Christopher Columbus. According to historical document, Christopher Columbus discovered the pineapple on his second trip to the Caribbean (most specifically Guadeloupe) in 1493. Preferring the sweet taste of the pineapple and several other tropical island fruits to cannibalism, Columbus and his men embraced the fruit. They returned to Europe, where the pineapples became a symbol of great wealth, as European gardeners were not able to grow the fruits in the correct conditions until well into the 1600s (first recorded in the Duchess of Cleveland’s hot house in 1642). Honored and distinguished guests were gifted the extremely fashionable pineapples by royalty.

The Colonial pineapple trade in the late 1600s and early 1700s solidified the pineapple as a status symbol. Pineapples were not only expensive, they were fragile! The sea voyage from the Caribbean to the colonies rotted most of the fruit during the hot and humid voyage. Hostesses scrambled to have the expensive, prickly fruit adorning their tables, and the trend grew. Pineapples have graced tables ever since — even continuing through the 1950s in America, where pineapple upside-down cakes and gelatin molds abounded. Their popularity eventually gave life to the host of architectural or ornamental pieces that you see today (i.e. door knockers).                                     (source: http://www.apartmenttherapy.com/a-brief-history-of-the-hospitality-pineapple-200667)

ok so I just watched this video…. I guess I didn’t do it the “right” way. But it still started growing. What I heard the first time is how to get it to grow an actual fruit. Guess I will have to dig more into that.

My other project I have standing in my kitchen are three avocado seeds that I am hoping to turn into trees. Our house is slowly turning into a jungle…hahaha… don’t know if hubby is realizing this.


Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Wood Pineapple Dangle Earrings
by WoodWearByAndrea

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
PINEAPPLE JASMINE–All Natural VEGAN Deodorant by LuckyGirlBoutique

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Pineapples handmade burlap summer tote bag
by My Apopsis World

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Dangle Pineapple Belly Button Jewelry
by Bitsoffthebeach

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Dark Blue Oval Doily, Pineapple Lace Doily by Buscia

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
pineapple body spray by normasbathandbody

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Pineapple Print, Pineapple Wall Art, by VividAtelier

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Be a pineapple | Pineapple Decor by KNOTnNEST

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Pineapple Necklace – Hand Stitched Pineapple Pendant by Cocoshoopla

 

If you have ever visited Charleston South Carolina, you might have seen the beautiful pineapple fountain that is located in the Waterfront Park. Beautiful place to hang out.

d7d7be6023249d6604a55da19840306b

I just found a Canadian on Youtube who grows pineapples a different way. I might have to try that one the next time. Sadly the pineapple season is over and I will have to wait.

 

Let me know about your pineapple growing experience. I’d love to learn a few new tricks.

 

5 thoughts on “Spotlight Friday: pineapple

  1. A fabulous story of Pineapple.

    I’ve become quite dependent upon pineapple and it’s juice as I have Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD) and pineapple juice helps me rid my lungs of stubborn congestion. What a pleasant discovery that was… for it sure tastes a whole lot better than Buckley’s Cough medicine and is a whole lot cheaper than antibiotics :>)

    Pineapple juice is a staple in my diet though I know it would be impossible for me to grow it myself in our harsh winter climate in Canada. I’m sure grateful to pineapple farmers who live closer to the equator for growing this lifesaver for those of us with lung disease.

    I can’t say the same of those who grow tobacco….or for governments who have become dependent upon income from tobacco taxes…. Governments do not seem to understand that their income from tobacco taxes is quickly spent providing healthcare for those who became addicted to cigarettes in their youth.

    Yay for Pineapple… Nay for Tobacco :>) A great read, Frauke. Thanks you…. Faye

    Liked by 1 person

    1. wow, that is good to hear that pineapples are doing such a great job for you! The second video of how to grow a pineapple is from a Canadian guy, so if he can grow then, maybe you could too? And about the tobacco growing….well I don’t think the government is interested in our health anyway, because there is too much money to be made from sick people. So it’s better to keep them sick. This is at least the trend I have been seeing here. But for you I hope there will be a steady supply of juicy yellow fruits!

      Like

  2. I saw a video about 3 months ago about growing a pineapple. I decided that was my next experiment. You see, I tried the banana one and, like I thought, within 2 weeks all I had was mush.
    Anyway, the video I saw didn’t specify taking so much off the bottom and sticking it into water, so I just stuck it into the ground. I sliced off the top which left about 1/4″ of fruit still at the bottom and buried it in an old Oak barrel I usually grow tomatoes in.
    Then, because they have been so good, fairly expensive but good, I have done the same to all the pineapples I purchased.
    The first one died. Even though I have kept the second, I’m afraid the second one isn’t going to make it either. However, the next three actually have new green shoots coming up in the middle. I water them about every 5th or 6th day and the barrel is in the sun for part of the day. Our temps are still in the 80’s and 90’s, high 60’s at night. I try not to get water down in the middle because I don’t know if they would rot. I know outside in a field they could get water from rain, etc., I just don’t know about in a pot.
    I’m sooooo excited!!
    Now I’m going to get another and do it according to the video instructions and see what happens.
    Thanks Frauke for the great story!! And Faye…I hope you will try it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. oh wow, that’s fun. I just cut mine off as well, still had fruit on the bottom. It did get a lot of green leaves, and so far did not water it regularly. It was outside until this week. So we will see. Before I moved it in the house I put it in a bigger pot. But in another video I watched it said that a 1 Gallon pot would be totally enough. Don’t know but might try that with another one. Lucky you still having such warm temps! Keep us posted about your success!

      Like

      1. Frauke…I will!! I understand it takes about 2 years for a real plant so I guess my tomato barrel will be tied up for a while, LOL!! I am still going to try another in the water like the video showed. I guess once I get little shoots I will put it in the barrel also. The nice thing about the barrel is, it’s on rollers so I can move it out of the really hot sun or keep it covered away from any frost.
        We’ll see ?????

        Liked by 1 person

Thanks for your comments!

