Spotlight Friday: scarves

It is starting to get a little nippy in the morning. So now is the time to pull out my knitting needles to start working on scarves and gloves and all this warm winter stuff.

So the other day I found some nice soft yarn and I couldn’t resist and bought it. I didn’t just buy it I had a project in mind. One of my friends had asked me to make a scarf.

Digging through my books and magazines I found a nice pattern for this beautifully colored yarn.

While I was going through my patterns some thoughts crossed my mind, about how long are people wearing scarfs, or did they have a different meaning, who was the first one to wear a scarf. Did they have a different function?

A scarf, also known as a Kremer, muffler or neck-wrap, is a piece of fabric worn around the neck, near the head or around the waist for warmth, cleanliness, fashion, or religious reasons. They can come in a variety of different colors.

This is what I found:

timeline_small

(source: http://www.scarves.net/blog/the-history-of-scarves-a-timeline/)

I can’t recall when I knitted my first scarf, but it has been many since. Some just plain in pattern or color and some with luxurious yarn. Some with a intricate pattern. Short ones, super long ones, cowl and triangle ones. So many options. Often quite a “quick” project, the thicker the yarn the faster it grows. Every year there is a new trend in knitting scarves. I usually don’t follow those, I like doing my own thing.

This is how far I got with my scarf, in one day:

wavy

Had a tough time getting the colors photographed.  But you get the idea.

This is how the shape will look like when finished: snapshot_2010-02-02_10-55-21_small2 The pattern is from Debbie O’Neill from the book “60 Quick Knits”.

I like trying something new. It took me a few unravelings (if that is even a word) to get the pattern down pat. The unraveling wasn’t easy because it is a fuzzy yarn,  once you knit it it likes clinging to itself. And taking those stitches out without getting frustrated is a little challenging.


Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Hand Painted Silk Scarf, MADE TO ORDER ONLY, Choose your Colors, Jossiani by Jossiani

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Cable knit womens hood hat scarf peacock feather color
by YANKAcrafts

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Corduroy Cravat Handmade Keyhole Men’s Scarf Stone and Green Fleece Necktie by tlcHaberdashery

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Authentic African Kente Cloth Stole, Scarf, Made in Ghana, Multi-Color
by KenteFashionHouse

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
SALE Argyle scarf, navy blue, green, upcycled, repurposed, very warm
by TheSassyGal

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
London Scarf
by BellaEl

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Hand painted silk scarf – Butterfly wing- butterfly scarves- chiffon scarf by JoannaArtDesign

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Shearling Scarf with Leather Fringe Tassels – Available in Grey Beige or Black. by byloomandhyde

Item Title by Shop Name on Zibbet
Large Linen Scarf Fall Blanket Scarf | Fall Fashion Lightweight Scarf | Linen Blanket Scarf with Fringe by TwoSparrowsBoutique

 

Just click on the picture and it will take you to the corresponding shop.

What kind of scarf do you wear?

I like mine warm and long, so I can wrap them around my neck at least two times. I am a cold nature and always have cold feet and hands. I can’t stand having cold air sneaking down my neck.

6 thoughts on “Spotlight Friday: scarves

Thanks for your comments!

