How I make my mice #2

After I have finished the head I usually start working on the tummy.  I don’t have a picture of how I start on the bottom of the head and how I increase the stitches. mousebelly1

And with every mouse the size of the belly varies. Some are slimmer than others. Then stuff the little belly with the white fluffy stuff. Decrease the stitches and close the belly up. mousebelly2

mousebelly4

Usually I keep that thread pretty long, because I use it to “fine tune” the mouse later once all the legs, arms and tail are attached.

After that I usually move on to the ears. That’s when the transformation happens and the personality of the mouse peeks through. mouseears3Each ear has two pieces , the outer side and the pink inside. Each worked separately and and then sewn together. Some get pinched at the end to give the ear a more curled up look. Or just leave as is. It really depends on the mouse.

 

 

See how the mouse all of a sudden gets a personality?

Off to add the tail. I usually just pick up stitches right at the rear and and start knitting a long cord. mousetail

mousetail1

Once the tail is done all these threads have to be tucked away, can’t have all this mess hanging of the mouse. Then the tail will get a little knot in the end.

Next step is the arms. I eyeball the spot where I want the arms to sit and pick up some stitches and work for a short while then switch over to pink for the mouse hand.  The other side happens the same way. mousearms

Then again a lot of threads need to disappear again. Legs will be attached after, but I didn’t take no pictures of that yet. I have to start a new mouse to show you how I work on that.

So I did all that 6 times and then had few of them half way done.11mice1

Then a few more  and I had a big Clan

family-picture-mice

Now off to the exciting part of getting them either dressed or give them some accessories.

3 thoughts on “How I make my mice #2

Thanks for your comments!

