How I make my mice #4

So, once a mouse body is knitted and put together, I try to figure out what he or she would be. If I have an order I usually make more then one and pick the one that seems to fit more the requested personality.

One of the requests was do make a Bavarian Female.  Well the typical Bavarian Female Tracht (refers to traditional garments in German-speaking countries. Although the word is most often associated with Bavarian and Austrian garments, many other peoples of Germany have them.) is usually a Dirndl.

dirndl-lang-stockerpoint-amber-schwarz-sc195-tanne_215x337

A dirndl (German:ˈdɜrnd(ə)l ) is the name of a traditional feminine dress worn in Austria, South Tyrol and Bavaria. It is based on the traditional clothing of Alps peasants.

Nowadays the come in all kind of different colors and lengths.

One detail is always the same, the shape of the top part, slimming and pushing up the boobige (boobs pouring over an outfit) In Bavaria it is called to have a lot of “Holz vor der Huette” directly translates to “wood in front of the cottage”

So I had a little bit of a problem. My mice do not come with boobs.  Now I had to figure out how to make this possible.

Then I had an idea. I made a corset, for the little mouse and stuffed it a little bit and sewed it down on the right places. This was the result.

mouse-boobs1

A Mouse in Lingerie.

I like to have the mice wear bright bold colors to offset it from their body color. So I picked a yellow for the dress and then the apron in a rose to give it a little bit more splash of color.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The corset got some sleeves and was turned into the blouse that is worn under the Dirndl.

As a final touch the stitching in the front was added. The strings in the Dirndl are there to tighten the dress and function more like a corset.

I would say she is ready for the Oktoberfest in Munich !

dirndl2

Thanks for your comments!

