getting sidetracked

I said I was going to show you the end result of my mouse family. I got them finished on time, even though there where some postal hiccups. They made it to their final destination in time before Christmas.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I heard that they made it there safely and that the recipient loves the family “picture”.

That made my heart smile. I love hearing how other people react to my mice. I know not everybody is fond of those little creatures.

I am working on a little mouse right now as a thank you gift to my clay person (2Beths’ Creation). She is great to work with. It was the first time we had worked together. And it was  a little vague for me. I was under a time crunch, because I had lost my person that I usually had worked with together.  Find someone who loves doing clay miniatures is not as easy as you think. There are not many that do that little tiny stuff.  I  can’t do the clay work, I tried many times and failed miserable. So it was either, lose the order or jump in both feet first. I had contacted Beth to see if she was interested. And I was so happy when she said she loved doing the small things. So I told her what I needed. And she got to work.

I don’t like to limit someones creativity. I like to have the pieces have their own “personality”. I know that makes it kind of vague for the creator while making something for someone else. Beth showed me her progress and I love the way she works. All I needed was little hooks on some things and that was all. I hope we will get more possibilities to work together.

I fell in a little bit of a slump right before Christmas. Something sucked all my creative juices out. I did get some things done, like the kit my daughter got for Christmas. A little stuffed cat. It was just too fuzzy for her to work with.

She named him “Mr. Meows a lot” kittyp

 

I also  made a pair of socks for my friend. She had seen them on the internet and sent me a picture. So I went off to see if there is an available pattern to work with. I did find it on ravelry. A knitting and crocheting community that I have been part of for quite some time. Luckily you can buy the pattern on line. I calculated how much yarn I would need and told my friend to pick some colors. She went ahead and ordered it and dropped it off at my house.

I learned a few new techniques, thanks to youtube I learned them a little quicker and only had to unravel and start over 3 times. I am a visual learner and sometimes find it hard to visualize something when it is only written.

The socks worked up quite fast. What took a little longer where all these yarn ends that needed to be woven in secure, so they will withstand wearing and washing. mjsocks

After sewing all the ends in it was time to crochet some flowers.  That’s where I needed youtube again. I can pretty much tackle anything with a knitting needle but when it comes to a hook it seems like I get my brain all knotted up. But I managed and sowed 3 flowers on each sock. mjssocks

I still have a poncho waiting to be finished. It is 90% done. But I get distracted to knit socks all the time. They are an easy project, where I don’t have to think a lot. I am not talking about the sock you see up there. I am talking about simple socks. socks

I can take those with me to appointments, sport events etc.

I do have some other things in planning. Kind of shying away from them right now, because there I would have to sit down and get all knitty gritty with the pattern and probably start over a 1000 times.

Plus I got some nice fabric waiting for me to sew some cute things out of. I don’t have enough time in my day…..aaahhhhh…

I will get to those things when it’s time.

Hopefully you had a splendid start into the new year and looking forward to what it will bring.

Thanks for your comments!

